Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2008, 07:40 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default SLI Advice

ok a friedn of mine is looking @ a new build / upgrade.

basicly he has a core2 at the moment think its a e6300 and an ATI something graphics card cant remember exactly,

badicly he wants to slowly upgrade his computer and then with the old parts eventually have 2 computers,

hes starting with a new graphics card / cards,

hes buying this motherboard

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/125082

and this graphics card, http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?...23831&doy=11m7

not a month or so down the line hes going to buy another 1 of those graphics cards and a Q6600.

basicly im asking for any advice at all on SLI,

i no u say dont buy 2 8600 buy an 8800 for like 30 more but the thing we are doing with his machine requires graphics card memory like no other. trust me its "something" multiple times and with a 256 card he can do it 5 X with a 512 card he can do it 8 X basicly the more RAM the graphics card has the btter for him,

no my first question if he SLI's these cards is it like he has 2Gb RAM on graphics ? or is it better to not SLI them ? and have 2 monitors ?? and will i have 2Gb graphics RAM then ?

another question if i do SLI what do i need i have absolutely no idea about SLI at all, do i need to hard link the cards together ??? with a cable or something ?? or is it all software ?? i have no idea at all,
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 07:54 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: SLI Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssc456 View Post

no my first question if he SLI's these cards is it like he has 2Gb RAM on graphics ? or is it better to not SLI them ? and have 2 monitors ?? and will i have 2Gb graphics RAM then ?

another question if i do SLI what do i need i have absolutely no idea about SLI at all, do i need to hard link the cards together ??? with a cable or something ?? or is it all software ?? i have no idea at all,
Question 1
Whatever amount the card has is the total Vram. Example he has 2, 512MB cards its only 512MB Vram. You don't add them together it doesn't work like that.

You can have 2 Monitors setup with SLI as long as there both in the top DVI plug in. http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=18302

Question 2

SLI has a little connector that plugs between the cards. You'll see a notch in the front of the card where it plugs in. You will need to set it up through your bios as well to put it in SLI mode. As long as the motherboard your buying supports SLI it will include the SLI link cable.

__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 07:59 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: SLI Advice

ok yep the mobo supports SLI, and u say ill never get double the vram what about if i dont run them in SLI and run them independantly
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0