Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2007, 03:43 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

Well BT is on the list of bad ISPs for P2P, but Sky is not.
http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Bad_ISPs


If they try to block torrents, do the following:
- Change the port your client uses, and make sure you reconfigure port forwarding
- Enable encryption. Look here for how to do it in various clients:
http://torrentfreak.com/how-to-encry...rrent-traffic/
This is so your ISP can't detect that it's BitTorrent traffic. You don't want them to know it's BitTorrent traffic because many ISPs, including BT, limit the bandwidth for torrents.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 03:47 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

i have utorrent and its got encryption enabled already. i dont usually have too many problems.
although i still dont think ive forwarded the port correctly even though it says i have. sometimes i will get real fast speeds and some times they will be slow, and my router just fcuks up in general. ill see if the homehubs better or ill have a fiddle.
the homehub has a usb slot on the back. i wonder if external hdd's can be plugged in
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 07:21 AM   #13
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

Dude_SE:



That will tell you if you'r port is forwarded correctly
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 08:44 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

yea thats just it. i know all that stuff but the green tick is there but it says my port isnt forwarded properly ... well sometimes it will say its ok sometimes it wont.

that reminds me ... i need to get the simpsons movie
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 09:57 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

What router do you have?
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 10:12 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

bt voyager 2091
i even tried portforward.com for a guide and it does the same thing.
im getting 63kb/s on a torrent now and usually when the ports not forwarded i get about 10kb/s. i should be getting 150kb/s + though.
basically i seem half way there. i might just wait till i get the homehub and try on that, although i never seem to have much luck with utorrent.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 10:14 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

It usually depends on the torrent.

Nevertheless, there are some tweaks you can do to speed it up:
http://torrentfreak.com/speed-up-your-torrents-ii/

Those helped out my speeds a bit.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 10:19 AM   #18
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: is sky broadband good?

yea. ive done all of the stuff in that guide though. i recon this torrent in particular is just slow. my internet has just been slower in general lately ive found. ill just wait till i get the home hub and go from there
does anyone else have one? as long as the signal is better than my voyager 2091 ill be happy, although i cant moan too much as its been a good router.
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0