Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 07:09 AM   #21
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by root
BBcode is sigs is a no because people use it to put big pictures in, (it's hard to realy monitor the picture size).
they also use it to put annoying links to websites...

I'd love it if it were enabled, because then I could have a nice sig pic, but it's not, and there's no sense complaining because I don't think it will be enabled either...
OK, great, but, re my query, nobody has yet explained why we can't access sigs since the revamp, perhaps David or Seti will step in?
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:13 AM   #22
Fully Optimized
 
Dishdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,801
Default Re: Size of signature

Just to make my point again My sig at home on 1280x1024 is 4 lines, at school on 800x600 it's 8.
__________________

__________________
CPU-Intel Pentium 4 630 3.0Ghz / 2MB Cache ~~OS Windows XP SP2
MOBO-Gigabyte 8I915P Duo Pro Intel Socket 775 (PCI-E)~~HDD-Western Digital 160GB(SATA)
PSU-Aspire 500W ATX~~RAM-1GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (512x2 Dual Channel)
GPU-MSI GeForce 6600 GT(PCI Express)~~Monitor Viewsonic VA902B 19" 8ms~~ ATI TV Wonder Pro (TV Tuner)
~~Still to come~~: eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT
Dishdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 09:58 AM   #23
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dishdog
Just to make my point again My sig at home on 1280x1024 is 4 lines, at school on 800x600 it's 8.
8 lines at school is up to the school authorities, & is no concern to CF, you say that here you have 4 lines, but the fifth line under your sig line makes it 5, as it is grouped with it, so that's OK!!
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:04 AM   #24
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Size of signature

OK...

perhaps someone can decide on a standard resolution for what length sigs should be at five lines for...

now I don't want any snobbery as in people with better monitors or graphics cards belitteling people for not having as good of a computer/display setup...

as a starting suggestion I think that it wouldn't be unfair to suggest 1024 x 768
that's not insanely large...
and not insanely small either...
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:17 AM   #25
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Size of signature

Everyone forgets this is the house that David built. As such you have to respect the decisions he makes about avatars and sigs. Yes even if they are hosted offsite that makes no difference. The pages load slow no matter what connection you have. It looks messy and it's next to impossible to moderate. Not plugging his site but if you want to see what it would turn in to go here.
kustompcs.co.uk/index.php?
This is an exsample of messy and a sig/avatar free for all.

If you think 800x600 when building your sig then all of the resolutions would look good.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 10:32 AM   #26
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by root
OK...

perhaps someone can decide on a standard resolution for what length sigs should be at five lines for...

now I don't want any snobbery as in people with better monitors or graphics cards belitteling people for not having as good of a computer/display setup...

as a starting suggestion I think that it wouldn't be unfair to suggest 1024 x 768
that's not insanely large...
and not insanely small either...
Resolution isn't the problem, all they have to do in "Edit your sig", is hit the space key between the words, & move them into longer & longer lines until there are only five lines, simple!, after there aren't that many with excess lines, what's all the fuss?, I haven't got the whip out!
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 12:04 PM   #27
Fully Optimized
 
Dishdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,801
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurice
8 lines at school is up to the school authorities, & is no concern to CF, you say that here you have 4 lines, but the fifth line under your sig line makes it 5, as it is grouped with it, so that's OK!!
No meant at school my CF sig is 8 lines because we run the monitors at a res of 800x600. at home i run at a much bigger res so my CF sig is only 4 lines.
__________________
CPU-Intel Pentium 4 630 3.0Ghz / 2MB Cache ~~OS Windows XP SP2
MOBO-Gigabyte 8I915P Duo Pro Intel Socket 775 (PCI-E)~~HDD-Western Digital 160GB(SATA)
PSU-Aspire 500W ATX~~RAM-1GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (512x2 Dual Channel)
GPU-MSI GeForce 6600 GT(PCI Express)~~Monitor Viewsonic VA902B 19" 8ms~~ ATI TV Wonder Pro (TV Tuner)
~~Still to come~~: eVGA e-GeForce 7800 GT
Dishdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 01:41 PM   #28
Fully Optimized
 
macbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,468
Send a message via MSN to macbook
Default Re: Size of signature

Oh does it really matter? no! just keep them short!
__________________
4GB Intel Core Duo - 1.25 GB DDR2 SDRAM
macbook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 01:43 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dishdog
No meant at school my CF sig is 8 lines because we run the monitors at a res of 800x600. at home i run at a much bigger res so my CF sig is only 4 lines.
I should have said simply "OK", I guess, I wasn't prying into what you do at school.
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2006, 01:49 PM   #30
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Size of signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by rusbo.uk
Oh does it really matter? no! just keep them short!
Yours would be ideal, but you know some guys, they like to stuff it up front, & on vew, nothing wrong with that, they could of course, enter details "inside" their profile, you don't see anything displayed on mine, only a quote.
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0