Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2010, 03:52 PM   #31
Site Team
berry120's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 3,422
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

So from what I'm gathering is that the race for faster and more powerful hardware has finally slowed down?
It's been slowing down for a long time now - you may have seen enthusiasts rush out to buy quad cores yes, but the majority of people? Not really.

The race has actually flipped completely - Intel's atom motherboards are flying off the shelves. There's a couple of projects I'm thinking of where I'd use them and why not? You can pick up a motherboard with onboard graphics, sound and networking with a dual core atom processor that draws barely more than 30W under full load for around 60. That's pretty damn impressive, and no it's not going to rip through 1080p content or play the latest 3D games but for internet browsing, facebook, typing up a few letters, playing older games and so on it's fantastic. That's all most people need these days!

Save the whales, feed the hungry, free the mallocs.
berry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 05:17 PM   #32
Daemon Poster
winslow33's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 861
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

I'll be looking at a new rig probably in the new year; my first powerfull gamer since '98 so i might go for it.
I remember back then everyone was in awe at 98SE running 1GB of RAM

winslow33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:05 PM   #33
Neodude112320's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

Lightning fast PIII OC'd to 1.5ghz! Them were the days...
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:06 PM   #34
Fully Optimized
Indigo's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,866
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

I'm actually considering one of those Atom setups for my pfsense box, berry. The system I have now is fine, but a P4 3.0 GHz with HT is really overpowering for a simple pfsense box.

For the folks who have an AM2+ system and want to jump to a hex core, keep in mind AMD isn't as limited to memory bandwidth like Intel CPUs seem to be. I'm seeing very little differences in hardware that use DDR2-800 / 1066 compared to DDR3-1066/1333.

I have a quad core, as you can see, and I have an i7-920 at work, and I'm hard pressed to find enough work for all 4 cores to do on my Phenom II, nevermind a work PC that does office tasks.

Quad is where the sweet spot is right now, but the hex cores are nice if you do a lot of rendering or photo manipulation work.
Indigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 04:22 PM   #35
Site Team
JCB's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

im still using a dual core processor Im currently looking in to buying a quad core processor upgrade for my system. A 6 core CPU is due in a few years time for me

How to make windows xp run faster
JCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 09:53 PM   #36
Fully Optimized
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

I haven't gotten past 2 cores yet. I almost upgraded my desktop with some insurance money I got from a dead system, but it didn't cover enough of the cost. My dead system (P4 2.8 GHz, 768MB ram) got replaced with an AMD 2.1GHz, 2GB RAM system and I used the insurance money to buy me an HTPC with an AMD dual core. Got a dual core in 3 computers and a single core in 1. I'll upgrade my desktop one of these days when I get some money again. It's going on 3 years since I built it.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:16 PM   #37
Daemon Poster
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 666
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

6 cores... How much does an amd cpu like that cost?
aPanzerIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:21 PM   #38
Golden Master
Cabbs's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:29 PM   #39
Fully Optimized
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.

Originally Posted by Cabbs View Post
Or the AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE.
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 05:04 PM   #40
Daemon Poster
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 666
Default Re: Six-Core rigs.


aPanzerIV is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0