Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 11:26 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
maroondude14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Default Setting up home theater

Hey my dad just bought a Harman/kardon HKTS 10 HOme theater system and asked me to set it up. It has easy instructions but the wires it came with are to thick. I was looking around the internet and found these wires these wires that are really thin but i dont know which type to buy.

Any audiophiles able to help me?

Heres the link to the specs of the speaker system:

http://hardware.gamespot.com/Harman/...0-8433-S-10-13

And here is the link to the wires:

http://21st-century-goods.com/Mercha...tegory_Code=FW

which type of wire do i need and do i need any connectors?
__________________

maroondude14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:57 PM   #2
BSOD
 
MarxSoccer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,999
Send a message via ICQ to MarxSoccer Send a message via AIM to MarxSoccer Send a message via MSN to MarxSoccer Send a message via Yahoo to MarxSoccer
Default Re: Setting up home theater

Eh, the cables that came with it should work.
__________________

MarxSoccer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 12:42 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Setting up home theater

Yeah, I think you might've overlooked something. Usually the cables they supply you with are the right ones, if not the best in quality.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 08:41 AM   #4
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Nice...

The cables are most likely 18ga or 16ga. These sizes are best for optimum transfer of the sound signal. Anything smaller will act a resistor and affect the level as well as the sound quality. Use a litte caution routing the cables. If they are what is called zipwire there is no shielding and running them along side a power line or phone line can induce a hum in the line. If you have to run them along side either one of those try to make it as short a hop as possible.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 08:53 AM   #5
In Runtime
 
Methost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 204
Send a message via MSN to Methost
Default Re: Setting up home theater

Dont skimp on the cables. In this case you usually get what you pay for. It would be a shame to waste the great sound of a thousand dollar system by trying to save a few bucks on wires.
__________________
Fire Sprinklers Save Lives
www.waynefire.com
Methost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 01:57 PM   #6
In Runtime
 
maroondude14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Default Re: Setting up home theater

Thanks! Also the system was 300$. Im glad to know it looks like a 1000$ dollar system though.
__________________

maroondude14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0