Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2006, 05:53 AM   #11
Site Team
root's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,872
Default Re: Server Upgrade

Will this take away the timeouts?
Most unlikely - that to me seems to be a server communication problem, undoubtably solved by a ram upgrade, more likely just a higher bandwidth server would solve that out - probably hosting too many people!
No, they are PHP time outs...

anyone can mimic the timeouts if they have php installed on a web server.

all they'd have to do is do a lot of processing, in this server the processing time has to be greater than 60 seconds for a timeout. it stops infinite loops just using more and more ram... it's useful since a bad script can effectivly cause a memory leak by constantly assimilating more and more memory space as the execution progrsses.

basically there isn't enough resources to process submitted posts in the allowed time, thus people recieve the script exectuion timeout error page says the script has exceeded the maximum execution time.

more memory will help the situation, because the situation is simply caused by a lack of resources. it has nothing to do with bandwidth.

I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 08:21 AM   #12
Site Team
David Lindon's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Server Upgrade

Originally Posted by pcfan734
arent they sql timeouts?
Root is correct too. THe sql service is unstable (should be fine now) and when it crashes, php keeps trying to connect and times out. If you get the error then obviously its not a bandwidth problem because you receive the timeout errors

David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 01:37 PM   #13
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: Server Upgrade

More ram? How much ram did it have before? How much will it have after?
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 01:45 PM   #14
Golden Master
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Server Upgrade

wait, so is it installed yet? (the ram?)

and what are the specs?

Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0