Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2006, 07:38 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Server 2003, on a home network..

*Cannot post in server admin section, keep getting timeouts, please can a mod please move this*





Ok, just before I start, I do no alot about computers, so don't feel you have to act all nooby with me.. I am currently doing the BTEC level three, in system support. It involves hardware, software, programming, and cisco.

Anywoo, here we go..

I was recently donated a server, running Windows 2003 Server, Enterprise edition. It came with the product key, so i reinstalled it.

Now, at college, we have the good old system of having a username, in which we can log on anywhere, and have all our files and settings..

Is there any way to do this in my home, we have three computers, and this server, which is currently just an open file server.

The other thing is though, how could I configure it so that programs could be shared.. example.. i log on up here.. install say.. Winamp. I log on downstairs, and winamp is installed as well..

Sorry for all te questions, I know its posssible. some way or another..
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 08:32 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

It's called a domain controller (active directory) that lets you do this

Server 2003 Enterprise will act as a domain controller, you just need to set it up. It's fairly easy to get going.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 08:37 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Could you point me in the direction in how to do that, I would really appriciate it!
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 08:43 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxley1990
Could you point me in the direction in how to do that, I would really appriciate it!
Should be able to configure it from the server role wizard. Along with active directory, you also need a DNS server and a fileserver (Typically your domain controller can take on both roles in a small office)

I use Windows 2000 servers still, which are slightly different to configure.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 08:53 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

So, the DNS server, and file server, all just run from the one physical server yeah..

This is confusing me already, might just keep it as a file server..
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 04:45 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Have a look at this
http://www.visualwin.com/AD-Controller/
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 07:16 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Thanks for that, great tutorial. Do I set the router as the default gateway?
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 07:18 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Yeah mate, if ya router connects to the net
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 07:42 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Yeah man, got it working with one computer running XP pro in this house, got a little fake domain goin, it's mint..

Just need to *get* Windows XP PRO on the other machines..

Can home just upgrade to PRO, CBA reinstalling everything..

Thanks for all help..
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 07:45 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Server 2003, on a home network..

Yeah home can be upgraded to pro
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0