Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 11:45 AM   #31
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: School computers

Wow I somehow changed an admin pass:

1. Start>Run. Type 'compmgmt.msc' w/out the quotes.
2. Local Users & Groups.
3. Users.
4. Right-click on the account, 'Set Password'. Boom youre done.

Someone else in class asked me if this would do it so I tried it and it worked lol. The tech guy doesn't even know he can change it back from any account.
__________________

__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:08 PM   #32
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: School computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by root View Post
deleting documents is criminal (dataprotection act). that'll be why the police were involved.

yes they still make RM machines. I used to buy these when I worked in the Uni as they were generally [one of] the only ones I could get approval for as they were cheaper than Dell.

the RM machines they make now are better though.
on one of our networks all the pc's say "rm" never really knew what it meant.
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:57 PM   #33
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default Re: School computers

i was going to ask, do you think if i sat near a window with one of the school laptops it could possibly pick up someone else's Wi-Fi?
Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:09 PM   #34
Baseband Member
 
justinGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: School computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
on one of our networks all the pc's say "rm" never really knew what it meant.
RM is one of the most popular brands used in schools. It actually stands for research machines.
__________________
JustinGH
www.computingforum.org
email: justin@computingforum.org
email: for free hosting
justinGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:11 PM   #35
Baseband Member
 
justinGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: School computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le 3eme oeil View Post
i was going to ask, do you think if i sat near a window with one of the school laptops it could possibly pick up someone else's Wi-Fi?
This would be quite possible if there were wirless signals available. Although most wireless signals are secured for security and you would need a pass code to access the wireless signals.
__________________
JustinGH
www.computingforum.org
email: justin@computingforum.org
email: for free hosting
justinGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:13 PM   #36
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default Re: School computers

Not all are Password protected though right?
Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:26 PM   #37
Baseband Member
 
justinGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: School computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le 3eme oeil View Post
Not all are Password protected though right?
True not all are but its highly advisable to have it protected otherwise people can not only steal your signal but can also access information that is transfering over the wireless network.
__________________
JustinGH
www.computingforum.org
email: justin@computingforum.org
email: for free hosting
justinGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:35 PM   #38
Daemon Poster
 
NEED WOW NOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via AIM to NEED WOW NOW
Default Re: School computers

Ah, my school sucks.
Theres a four to five year cycle where we get new computers every 4 to 5 years. Well the High School gets the new computers, the 2 Middle schools get the computers that are being replaced in the High School, and the elementary schools get the hand me downs from the Middle schools.

So in the end we are going to have C2D CPUs in the next round of CPUs when where using Windows 97 and windows 2000NT. And I found out from my Computer teacher for beginning Microsoft word that where not moving to XP for another 4 to 5 years.

That plus they blocked Google images cuz everyone knows what they search on that. -.-'
__________________
AMD is Happy!
Intel is Pissed!
Europe is $1.45 Billion Dollar's Richer!
NEED WOW NOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:08 PM   #39
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: School computers

I really never have known how to do all the network tricks and stuff, like shutting down someone else's system through the Command Prompt. A lot of people had done the thing where you hit Ctrl + up or down to flip the screen, I never really had known how to do that either. Probably better I don't know a lot of that stuff, I'm not one that likes to get in trouble. As for OC'ing a CPU on those systems, most schools probably have prebuilts which have the BIOS locked anyway. My school gets only HPs now w/ AMDs. The last Intels that they got were P4's. Then they went AMD 64 for a year and now they have X2 2GHz CPUs as the best systems. My school gets new systems every year, but not for every place. They replace them a little at a time. They may just replace several computer labs one year, or teachers old systems. This year the library got some AMD X2s.

For the wireless question, if you are at school, chances are you aren't going to get anyone else's signal anyway. Probably too far away from anything. If you did pick up an unprotected signal you should be able to connect though. I keep my wireless signal unprotected because we're in the middle of nowhere anyway. No one else even on the road can pick it up.

People at my school at least in one class just got to all the unblocked flash game sites. If one gets blocked they all move to another one. Right now half the class plays a stupid helicopter game. One guy in there seems like he would die if he doesn't get his daily dose of flash games... I got a copy of AOE2 on my flash drive I copied from the student public drive. That's better than flash games. If there's nothing to do I'll just play that.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:36 PM   #40
In Runtime
 
CGfreak102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 475
Default Re: School computers

WOOT for age of empires 2, thats all we play in my programming class. but our school has wireless internet, i forgot if it is secure or not, i want to say its not.
__________________

__________________
Core I7 920 OC'ed to 3.0Ghz, 6GB G.skill DDR3 1333, Intel DX58SO, 500GB seagate 7200RPM + 320GB seagate, EVGA 9800GTX+ , 600W PSU.
CGfreak102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0