School Admins out there -- need some advice

jmacavali

Fully Optimized
First some background: I'm pretty new in the networking world. I graduated with a Networking Degree two years ago (June '07). I worked for the first year (almost to the day) at a computer shop, doing house calls and working with more "hardware" issues. Starting June '08, I began working for the local school system. I am the only IT person here. This first year has been about learning the software and the current setup. I think I have that down pretty good now. However, there are a few things I would like to do that I need some advice on.

1. Parent Notification Systems -- I have looked into several and haven't seen much difference except price. I'm looking for some recommendations from anyone out there using one (good or bad).

2. Virtualization -- Does anyone have virtual servers or virtual labs? If so how is it working, easyily setup, what software, etc?

3. How do you update your computers? Do you push them down off the server or do you have all the computers update automatically? If you use the server what do you use and links to set it up properly?

4. Any advice that you might have would be helpful and gladly accepted.

5. Any "must have" software you use for any purposes. The stuff you use everyday and couldn't live without.

Thanks for any help you can give and I guess if you can provide answers to any issues, then you don't have to be a school admin to help. Thanks again!

don't work in a school but do work at an organisation that has a load of servers.

1, don't know the answer, -but whatever you do use make sure that it works.
i remember a story on the register where the parents of a deceased student were sent a letter advising them of their daughters absence from exams that she should be sitting.
2, virtualisation is OK, for making machines that can be quickly and easily destroyed wiped and put back to normal it's definitely the way to go i feel.