savings account

dude_se

Proper Legend
ok, so i want to save around £2000 and build up interest on it. seen a few good accounts, but im no expert. should i get an isa or a savings account, and which one is best?
UK banks only please.

instead of savings why not go for premium bonds?

the more you put in, the higher chance of winning prizes, my boss put about 30grand in and wins like 50pound here and their, also he won £500 which is the most he has won of bonds.

lol

http://www.nsandi.com/products/pb/index.jsp

the gov bond is very good

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Diol1/DoItOnline/DG_4017782

But then again, they can be worse then the average interest rate,the more tax you pay, the more likely you'd win.

What about stock market? lol why not buy some shares hehehe

Why did you post this in hardware / software?
As for the answer to your question, it depends on how fast you want to get your money back. Saving accounts are a slow way but short term cd's will yield higher returns over a shorter amount of time. Trouble with cd's is if you want to make a high yield return you have to invest a lot up front.
CD's will kill you with early withdrawal fees if you change your mind and take your money back out before the term is up.

wow im a d**k, but im priv so ill move it haha,
then ill read the comments.

edit: ok, firstly whats a CD?
secondly, a bond ... hmm. possible i guess, but how does it all work?
i wouldnt mind saving it all up for about a year. no longer than that though. seen some savings accounts which offer around 5-6.5% AER, so im looking at around £100-£150 a year, which is kind of crappy but might aswell make it if i can.

ISA.

Completely untaxed, but you can only deposit into one ISA per tax year and into that ISA you can only deposit up to £3600.

Normal savings accounts don't usually have great interest rates unless you're tax exempt (which you will be at this stage).

hmm ok.

grow with an eSaver
5.62 % AER

(variable)

Enjoy a rate of 6.56% AER