Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2008, 05:03 PM   #1
Baseband Member
 
vr67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Exclamation Russia sends troops into Georgia

It appears that Russia has sent tanks and troops into a section of Georgia and the two countries are now "at war". Hopefully this conflict ends quickly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Times Article
Russia sent troops rolling into a breakaway region of Georgia on Friday after Georgian troops sought to enter the capital of the pro-Russian enclave, in a sharp escalation of the longstanding conflict.

Russian Prime Minister Vladimir V. Putin declared that “war has started” and President Mikheil Saakashvili of Georgia accused Russia of a “well-planned invasion," saying he had mobilized Georgia’s military reserves.


http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/09/wo...09georgia.html
__________________

vr67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:05 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

Boo, not fun
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:10 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr67 View Post
Hopefully this conflict ends quickly.
Google the Chechen Wars.

This "conflict" will not end quickly.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:15 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

I can't believe the United States news media isn't covering this. This quote was mentioned on the Situation Room today by a viewer.
Quote:
Elaine in Lahmansville, West Virginia writes:
Jack, Let me see if I understand this. Russia is attacking another country right now but we’re worried about John and his zipper? What a world!
Guess I'm not the only one who's frustrated with this poor coverage.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:20 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
ghostFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,186
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

Lol, holy sh*t... I thought you were talking about Georgia, US
__________________
dude_56013: "Find something you love...and never work a day in your life"


David Lindon: "Faggot"
ghostFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 06:32 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

It's pointless to cover it. Georgia is a small country with nice people, Russia will completely devastate Georgia. The End.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:39 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
DefCon_!1!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,733
Send a message via AIM to DefCon_!1! Send a message via MSN to DefCon_!1!
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostFL View Post
Lol, holy sh*t... I thought you were talking about Georgia, US
lol...everytime i say that country...people are like " but georgias only like a few hours away"
__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4
i5 2500k 4.5ghz with H100 Cooling
2x 560ti @ 950mhz
DefCon_!1! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 11:33 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
ace777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,110
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

oh crap im screwed i live there lolz.
__________________
2.4 Ghz celeron, 1.25 PNY pc 2700 RAM,PNY VERTIGO 5200 FX , 40 GB HDD
900Mhz 256 RAM , MX 4000, 30 GB HDD
1.9Ghz dual core AMD Athlon 2 GB 384 VRAM 320 Gb HD
2.3 tricore phenom,2 GB RAM , EVGA 9600 GSO,250 GB SSD
2.6 X4 620, 4GB RAM, 9600 GSO, 500 GB HDD/I'm part of The Project
ace777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 11:59 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
I can't believe the United States news media isn't covering this. This quote was mentioned on the Situation Room today by a viewer.


Guess I'm not the only one who's frustrated with this poor coverage.
Russian athletes didn't even know at the time of the opening ceremony. Vladimir Putin did, according to the announcers Bush and Putin had already discussed it at the Olympics.
__________________
www.crazycomputers.org
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 03:08 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Russia sends troops into Georgia

@0100.... lol - i dont watch the news at all when it comes to this crap. It gets too freakin biased. For example, last week they reported that the anthrax guy that attacked the government "committed suicide" my dad, after spending 20 years in special operations for the military instantly said that wasn't true. People like that whom have attacked the government dont just commit suicide, i guess you have to have some affiliation with the government to really understand some of the screwed up things governments can and will do. If somebody has bad PR on them, they magically disappear. It has happened, and will continue to happen. Arms dealing is another thing, the US is the biggest arms dealer in the world. It's all about money.
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0