Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2009, 06:40 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Cool Rotating 'Still' Images?

How do they do this?

Like in a film when the action pauses, cars in mid air, people in mid air doing fly kicks, and the camera rotates around the scene.
  • I reckon they have a very powerful computer that makes a 3D image of that still to enable a rotation around it.
  • Or they set up many cameras around the scene and have a computer fill in the gaps to enable the rotation.
  • Or they have graphical coders that build up a 3D image to make this happen.
Because there's no 3D information in a still - its only 2D.

Help me out.

__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 06:52 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

In the matrix the flying kicks were done in a big cylinder covered in green screen, then they actually had a huge ring of cameras all around the sides. Then they had the kicks recorded with the people on fly wires. They take a few frames on each of the cameras and piece the whole thing together then they alpha the green screen out and edit the background/scenery in
__________________

__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:06 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

yeah basically lots of time seeming the frames together from a bunch of different cameras. or they well have him stay still and run the camera around them with a green screen behind
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:16 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?



__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:19 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
vampist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

You can do this by hanging the person in mid air, inside of a green circle.
For example.
You are in a room were the walls make a circle right?
Now you paint the walls green. That is what I mean.

Then. The person does the pose, or poses they need for the movie.
The camera then (from above) Rotates around the person.
You can then use video editing software to fill in the green screen with the background of the room.
Which with a 3D rotating affect you will usually blur the background a bit.
__________________
Everyone's Favorite Turd xD
ET: "Phone home!"
Geek: "ping 127.0.0.1"

"If that guy knew half the $h*t that I know, his fuzzy little head would explode. " - Matthew Farrell
vampist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:17 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

Precisely.

Although big graphic images with people shooting towards you etc. are normally done with cgi for some movies.
__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:31 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

Sweet.

It seems a lot of work for an effect?
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:41 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

I think I know how I would achieve it.

I would line cameras around where I want them to capture a 'still' where nothing is moving, and have them all capture the action at the same time using a automatic timer, or a shutter release.

Then, since every camera has captured the exact same frame, and exactly the same point in time, you could then get these images, put them into a video editor, and line up the still frames from each camera onto a time line, creating frames from this apparently 0:00:00 timed event where no time exists.

Motion blurring would probably be added then in the editor itself, to create more of a smooth transition between the frames, since if kept without motion blurring, it'd seem unnatural, since its not a real moving camera, but a sequence of stills.

You'd also have to manually set the apatuture, shutter speed, etc I'd think, because even if its the same camera, the differences in contrast in the scene could cause one camera to lag behind another if left in automatic mode, which could cause one camera to see a second more than the other cameras, resulting in a jitter.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:55 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
I think I know how I would achieve it.

I would line cameras around where I want them to capture a 'still' where nothing is moving, and have them all capture the action at the same time using a automatic timer, or a shutter release.

Then, since every camera has captured the exact same frame, and exactly the same point in time, you could then get these images, put them into a video editor, and line up the still frames from each camera onto a time line, creating frames from this apparently 0:00:00 timed event where no time exists.

Motion blurring would probably be added then in the editor itself, to create more of a smooth transition between the frames, since if kept without motion blurring, it'd seem unnatural, since its not a real moving camera, but a sequence of stills.

You'd also have to manually set the apatuture, shutter speed, etc I'd think, because even if its the same camera, the differences in contrast in the scene could cause one camera to lag behind another if left in automatic mode, which could cause one camera to see a second more than the other cameras, resulting in a jitter.
A real "moving camera" is exactly what you said its not. A sequence of stills lol.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:52 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Rotating 'Still' Images?

What I meant was that the cameras aren't moving, so motion blur won't occur like in a real moving camera, so it'd seem more like simply stills taken with a standard digital camera, and not footage from a motion camera.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0