Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2007, 03:39 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
PuNkY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to PuNkY
Default Remote Desktop

Im just wondering if anyone leaves their computer on during the day (downloading big files or just for the hell of it) and go on another computer when you get the chance and check on yours. I wanna make sure im not the only one.

I mainly leave it on cause its the ultimate proxy server and worried im going to burn out my CPU. When im at school they blocked every proxy server on the net, but dont think about remote desktop. So I can access anything I want.
__________________

__________________
Custom) Core2Quad 2.4GHz, 2GB DDR2800 RAM, Dual 256MB GeForce 8600 in SLI, 320GB SATA HDD
PuNkY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:09 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I never use it, its always disabled. I just think if you leave it open, then your more vulnerable to an attacker.

I never feel the urge to check how my computer is going when ive been away from it for a few hours, that dedication man.
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:21 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via MSN to blackjack
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I often leave my computer on overnight if im downloading a big file or if im going out during the day, i dont think you would burn out your cpu unless you are overclocking it and dont have a surficient cooling system. the only thing i do is switch of the monitor as you could in theory burn out your screen in your monitor.
__________________
Compaq Presario CQ5305K-m Intel® Pentium® Dual Core E5300 (2.6 GHz), Windows® 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 2048 MB , Hard drive: 320 Gb, with 18.5 Widescreen
SPURS TILL I DIE (DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER SO ARE SPURS)
TO DARE IS TO DO
blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:37 AM   #4
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I use it all the time for remote machines, its a great program
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 09:47 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Remote Desktop

apple remote desktop FTW!!!

i can control every comp at school wit that shit
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 09:53 AM   #6
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 225
Default Re: Remote Desktop

i have 1 media server on 24/7 in england that i control for my young nephews (for movies, games etc, their mother just doesn't trust them)
another in Amsterdam on 24/7 for work.
and these 2 in Paris must be on 20hrs a day.

Not very eco friendly, but hey.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
itchy feet, when will i settle?
it's the spleeing and grammor in forums that i love
------------------------------------------------
parismouton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:06 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I occasionally remotely access my desktop thru logmein (based on pc anywhere). This is one of my favorite remote access programs as it does not require and router level configuration. Using this across the internet is better than other software as you don't need to leave ports open.

I also use Apple Remote Desktop to control 23 macs at school. Apple Remote Desktop is my favorite remote control software. Theirs also thousands of PC's running lanschool remote control software which is totally insecure and total shit. However I don't touch PC's much.

At work we use a few different kinds of remote control software. For administrative use (what I do) we use Desktop Authority (based on pc anywhere). Thin client uses use mstsc (microsoft remote desktop) to connect to terminal servers. Windows clients that need unix applications use X11 to connect to servers.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:10 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Remote Desktop

The only time my compputer is on is when I get home from school, in the mornings and during the day its never on.
__________________
www.crazycomputers.org
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 01:42 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Remote Desktop

I use logmein at school for a proxy. Plus you can use AIM and such.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 02:04 PM   #10
In Runtime
 
PuNkY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to PuNkY
Default Re: Remote Desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105
I use logmein at school for a proxy. Plus you can use AIM and such.
I would use logmein at school, but it comes up block for proxy. I like logmein better because of security and seems faster than windows remote desktop.
__________________

__________________
Custom) Core2Quad 2.4GHz, 2GB DDR2800 RAM, Dual 256MB GeForce 8600 in SLI, 320GB SATA HDD
PuNkY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0