Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2008, 07:21 PM   #1
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Rebates?

i was just wondering about rebates.
everyone knows that you need the UPC and receipt turned in.
But what do i do if i turned those in and the product started to go wrong?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 08:01 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: Rebates?

Normally you send a duplicate receipt in and photo copy the UPC. Thats what I did when I got my last phone. That way I still have a copy of the UPC and have the original purchase receipt.

They will want the actual UPC but as long as you have a photo copy on file your good to go.
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 08:24 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
AmericanSensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Rebates?

If I'm understanding this correctly you need a receipt for the product you purchased, But you used your original and only receipt to mail out for rebate correct? If so, It would depend on where and how you paid for the product. Major retailers usually log all their customers transactions and purchase history which is gathered from either Credit cards, Bank Cards, Rewards Program cards which fortunately allows you access to old and lost receipts. Granted you paid cash, with no reward zone cards or anything that ties you to that receipt, Then your in all honesty shit out of luck, UNLESS the rebate center can help you out.

Always make copies of your important receipts, ALWAYS. It's good practice.
AmericanSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 09:11 PM   #4
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Rebates?

well, i dont need the receipt now, hopefully never.
i bought a couple of ram from micro center, and it had a rebate, and so far its working, but i always get worried that something might go bad, and if it does, then i cant get my money back.
so far its working perfectly, and i think micro center keeps a record of what each person buys since they ask for the name of the customers.
but what about the UPC code?
dont they need that to be able to replace the product?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 09:43 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
AmericanSensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Rebates?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
well, i dont need the receipt now, hopefully never.
i bought a couple of ram from micro center, and it had a rebate, and so far its working, but i always get worried that something might go bad, and if it does, then i cant get my money back.
so far its working perfectly, and i think micro center keeps a record of what each person buys since they ask for the name of the customers.
but what about the UPC code?
dont they need that to be able to replace the product?
That should be tied to the receipt. It identifies what product it is. The POS had to either have a SKU/UPC to even process the other.
AmericanSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 10:48 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Rebates?

When you send in for a rebate, you can no longer return the item. If they allowed that people would just buy a product get the rebate then return it after they sent off for the rebate check. So the lesson here is make sure you like the product and it works before you send for the rebate. But I'm fairly certain that you can still RMA it if it goes bad after you've sent for the rebate.
__________________
www.crazycomputers.org
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 05:06 AM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Rebates?

im know that you cant return it after doing the rebate, because its like stealing money.
but i was wondering what about being able to replace the item and they keep the UPC while i get the product?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 09:41 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Rebates?

Sometimes they give you a duplicate receipt right at the register so you can send that in for the rebate and you can keep one for yourself.
__________________

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0