Reasons I Need A Car

Status
Not open for further replies.
There are two differentials in a 4x4. In the rear axle, and in the front. The differential is where the axle meets the drive-shaft in the rear and same in the front, except in newer trucks, there isn't an axle. It sounds like you are saying there is a third differential in the T-case.

Center differential. It decides front/rear power ratio. in the STI it's adjustable with a knob.

I am yet to see reason why you NEED a car, I see plenty of reasons why you WANT a car, not that there is anything wrong with that.

im joining this thread a bit late but oh well...and disclaimer: im not an expert

right off that bat, before someone asks my driving experience ive had my license for about 2 years , and have been driving since i was 12 (mostly in a rural setting before i got my license)..and i live in edmonton, alberta, which for the most part gets a large amount of snow a year (at least 7-8 months a year)

if your looking for a AWD vehicle and want safety why look at a car...look at a truck, sure it may not be the coolest thing in the parking lot but its probably one of the safest..it can be an AWD like you want, you sit higher up giving you a better view of your surroundings..and i can t coutn the times i've seen accidents between a truck and car, where the car was scraped and the truck relatively undamaged

but as we know you arnt going to consider anything but the car youve picked out..so ill move on from that

heres some tips from someone who cut his teeth driving in the winter, take them or leave them.

a) get winter tires- i cant stress how important they are, ive seen many people slide like crazy because of all-season tires

b)have a winter pack made up, consisting of things like road salt, a tow rope, and a shovel at the very least