Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2009, 01:58 AM   #81
Fully Optimized
 
Zer0Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,599
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

Very nice rig Thelis, 9/10
__________________

__________________
- Asus P6T Deluxe v2 - Intel i7 920 @4Ghz 1.35v- Prolimatech HS - Cosmos S Case -
- ABS Tagan BZ Series BZ800 PSU
- ATI 5870 - G.SKILL 6GB DDR3 1600 - Razer Barracuda™ AC-1
- 120GB Crucial C300 SSD & 3X WD640AAKS HDD
- Dell 24" 2408WFP & 2407WFP-HC Monitor
Zer0Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:10 AM   #82
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I give it a 3, seems pretty slow, unless you are able to run Linux or something.
Linux and mac os x.2

^8/10

Next up my DPF

in the sig
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:16 AM   #83
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

I'd say a 7 bordering on a 7.5, but that's the most I can give. The GPU is a bit weak, and the RAM is slow, but there really isn't much you can do about that without building a new rig.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:20 AM   #84
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
I'd say a 7 bordering on a 7.5, but that's the most I can give. The GPU is a bit weak, and the RAM is slow, but there really isn't much you can do about that without building a new rig.
?
On my picture frame?

I think you are commenting on the media PC

And yes I know that. I don't need any upgrades. It is for movies, videos, DVR. That's all. no games or anything.

I thought they had fixed the whiteouts.
I keep getting them for a couple of minutes at a time.

Or maybe it's antistealth's DoS attack
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:46 AM   #85
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

No man, I'm commenting on your main rig. DDR2 is outdated, and that GPU limps a bit. As I said, 7/7.5.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:49 AM   #86
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

Yes, but I am currently working on a new gaming rig.

specs--
ECS black series A790GXM-AD3 mobo
2gb 4850x2
8gb crucial 1333 mhz DDR3 RAM
AMD P2 955
1 TB Seagate HD
LG super-multi
Vigor Monsoon III 120mmx2 CPU cooler
700w OCZ GameXstream
Acrylic case
Dual 28' WUXGA monitors (Hanns G)
16" ASUS Monitor
Dell 1100mp Projector

And yes, I plan to OC.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 03:00 AM   #87
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

9 for that rig.

Mine:
920 @ 4.2GHz stable
eVGA X58 mobo
3 GB Dominator RAM DDR3 at somewhere around 2GHz.
2 TB HDD
GTX 275 1792 VRAM
Antec 1200
OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream PSU
G11 Keyboard, Razer Lachesis Mouse.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 03:03 AM   #88
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

9.99999999999999999999999999
I took out that 0.0000000000000000000000000001 because intel
Which is better- the stealthxstream or gamexstream?
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 03:49 AM   #89
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

Quote:
DDR2 is outdated
And yet I have seen no evidence that DDR3 provides any performance advantage...
Quote:
Which is better- the stealthxstream or gamexstream?
The old GameXStreams had some flashy LEDs but were otherwise identical to the SXSs. The GameXStream Pros are now modular.

I think I gave you an 8 earlier.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 03:59 AM   #90
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Rate the person above you's rig.

DDR3 usually has higher bandwidth because of it's higher clock rate and consumes less power.

Though, I do agree with you that to some degree, this is just pure technical talk.

Your rig is a 10.

Mine:
920 @ 4.2GHz stable
eVGA X58 mobo
3 GB Dominator RAM DDR3 at somewhere around 2GHz.
2 TB HDD
GTX 275 1792 VRAM
Antec 1200
OCZ 700W Stealth X Stream PSU
G11 Keyboard, Razer Lachesis Mouse.
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0