Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2010, 12:31 AM   #8931
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I need input people. Place a pre-order for a GTX470 now and buy another later, or just wait until 4/12 and REALLY press my luck with trying to get a GTX480...
__________________

__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:33 AM   #8932
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Is there a specific reason why you need an nVIDIA card? I say HD 5870.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:36 AM   #8933
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantofhell View Post
Doing that will allow you to get your memory higher without breaking the FSB straps.
You won't ever really hit a wall with volts. I only did that once and that was on my 680i with the P4HT 630. 4.459GHz at 1.8 in BIOS, 1.71 after vOffset.
1.8 for the FSB or CPU? That seems really high though.
How would you suggest me in OC'ing? I was told that 1.2v for the FSB was too high enough, any higher and it will risk damages.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantofhell View Post
I need input people. Place a pre-order for a GTX470 now and buy another later, or just wait until 4/12 and REALLY press my luck with trying to get a GTX480...
Got any benches?

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Is there a specific reason why you need an nVIDIA card? I say HD 5870.
His SLI capable motherboard.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 12:38 AM   #8934
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Got any benches?



His SLI capable motherboard.
There is one site that benched the 470 and 480, I will see if I can find it.

Is there really ny need to SLI these cards for a single monitor resolution? Jeez, that is some major overkill.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...70-review.html GTX 470

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...80-review.html GTX 480

Not the same one I saw earlier but it will work. I would personally get a 5850 and OC the hell out of it. They hit ~900 core on stock voltage, 1000 can be achieved with 1.225v.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:11 AM   #8935
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Teny is right, though. It's an SLI motherboard, I'm just not gonna buy an ATi card. I still really want to go with 3D and some 28 or 30's. But money is exactly flowing like water, so I gotta take it slow.

1.8 volts in BIOS to the CPU is a whole lot. Most new (45nm's) can't go past 1.45-1.5 without taking a serious hit. 1.5 is the highest I've ever gone on my FSB. I tend not to like to go past 1.4. Unfortunately, this board only supports increments of .1 though I would have much prefer .01 or .05 increments.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:27 AM   #8936
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

lol wut I've had 1.7v on my 955.

Epic cooling ftw!

I think my BIOS goes to like 2.1v
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 01:50 AM   #8937
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Assassin's Creed II is starting to get repetitive, gonna play another game instead. Anybody know if BF Bad Company 2 is worth getting on the PS3?

I never went past 1.2v except when I accidentally had it on auto. I think that's what stopping me from going past 3.1Ghz.
I would go with the 470, seems like it's better. I didn't really see much benches, and not sure if I found the right prices, but it seems like the 480 cost almost twice as much and only give you about 20 FPS increases (only looked at 2 games).
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:59 AM   #8938
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

^I agree. 2x 470 is a better deal if you have enough power, and can deal with the heat. You can also run three monitors, since nVIDIA half-assed their equivalent of eyefinity. I guess they didn't want t have to put three RAMDACs on the card. Still, disappointing. I was considering one for my triple monitors, since I don't like my games looking like Quake or Doom II.

I got a $50 check from my aunt for fixing her Dell with a dying hard drive. I had said I didn't need her to pay me, so she mails me a check. Okay then...
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:12 AM   #8939
Daemon Poster
 
Legodude522's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
I want to know too, and where. If that's the kind of people that get promoted where you work I don't want to work there.
I'm currently on disability leave. Some guy quit and they want me to replace him because I'm really meticulous and OCD about my work.

I work for an environmental company as a technician.
__________________
PC: AMD Phenom 9950 2.6ghz Quad Core, ATI Radeon HD 5770, 8gb DDR2 RAM
Phone: Apple iPhone 5s 64gb (jailbroken)
Handheld Games: Nintendo 3DS XL, Tapwave Zodiac 2, GamePark Holdings GP2X F100
Legodude522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 08:27 AM   #8940
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,676
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legodude522 View Post
I'm currently on disability leave. Some guy quit and they want me to replace him because I'm really meticulous and OCD about my work.
You probably should have mentioned that before... That changes things entirely.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0