Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2010, 03:50 AM   #8771
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Well it depends. Your E7200 is prolly better than a Phenom x4 at like 1.8GHz, which i think is the slowest quad core on the market, and iirc was only a HP oem.

Any other would beat it pretty much.

Which one are you thinking? Q66 is epic, and can be had for cheap right now.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:50 AM   #8772
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Alright, then I guess I shouldn't bother getting anymore DDR2 ram then. Are there any AMD AM3 boards that supports both CrossX and SLI?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:51 AM   #8773
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
I like it, but I might tape it and spray it black. I'm just not a "blue" kind of person. Not that kind of blue anyways. I might do something with the LEDs too....I just don't like LEDs. Hahahaha.

EDIT: Teny, unless you are going super budget with something, quad is pretty much the standard now, IMHO. Unless you are pitting like an older quad (1st gen. phenoms) against something newer that's dual core (new dual cores from AMD), etc.
NEVER buy a first gen phenom unless its for a server maybe? idk, there POS it think.



SO Super, you'd recon that controller to be able to power 4 regular 120mm fans and my areocool 3000 fan with the CCFLs and stuff as well.
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:52 AM   #8774
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Which one are you thinking? Q66 is epic, and can be had for cheap right now.
At first, I was thinking of getting the Q8200 (I think it was the Q8200). It was like $130 at Micro IIRC. However, I was thinking of just getting a new board, CPU, and RAM altogether.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:52 AM   #8775
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Alright, then I guess I shouldn't bother getting anymore DDR2 ram then. Are there any AMD AM3 boards that supports both CrossX and SLI?
With a simple hack, you can SLI on any board.

With what you have already, look for a Q6600 used.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
NEVER buy a first gen phenom unless its for a server maybe? idk, there POS it think.
They are not POS. They actually are pretty good CPUs, they just do not OC very well and there are better out for cheaper now. Still, they are really good for a HTPC or midrange gaming if you can get an x4 one for under $80. Tigerdirect had 9750s for $60 a while back, that is what is in my brother's new comp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
At first, I was thinking of getting the Q8200 (I think it was the Q8200). It was like $130 at Micro IIRC. However, I was thinking of just getting a new board, CPU, and RAM altogether.
What is your budget?

It all depends on budget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
SO Super, you'd recon that controller to be able to power 4 regular 120mm fans and my areocool 3000 fan with the CCFLs and stuff as well.
Would it work with four panaflos?

Damn hard to find one for panaflos.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:58 AM   #8776
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
They are not POS. They actually are pretty good CPUs, they just do not OC very well and there are better out for cheaper now. Still, they are really good for a HTPC or midrange gaming if you can get an x4 one for under $80. Tigerdirect had 9750s for $60 a while back, that is what is in my brother's new comp.
i only said there POS because why spend 80$ on a slow clocked, quad, when for the same money, sometimes a bit more, you can get a PhenomII X3 for the same, and get better performance

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-652-_-Product
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:59 AM   #8777
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Don't really have a budget. Just want to upgrade without spending much. If I were to upgrade the CPU, then I would probably get one around April. If I were to get the mobo, CPU, and RAM, then I'll probably get them early fall to early winter.
It seems like the Q8200 from Micro is cheaper than the Q6600 from the sites I look at. I like to keep my parts ~$100 and below unless it's not really possible.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:02 AM   #8778
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
i only said there POS because why spend 80$ on a slow clocked, quad, when for the same money, sometimes a bit more, you can get a PhenomII X3 for the same, and get better performance

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-652-_-Product
You have to buy a HSF too. And the 9750 is clocked at 2.4GHz, which really is not too bad.

I agree that it is not a very good buy right now with the Athlon IIs out. Like I said, the one I bought was an exception at $60. They occasionally pop up really cheap like that on other sites too.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:02 AM   #8779
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
SO Super, you'd recon that controller to be able to power 4 regular 120mm fans and my areocool 3000 fan with the CCFLs and stuff as well.
I've got mine overloaded and it's running fine. I've got 2 scythes (ultra kaze and slipstream; both highest RPM ones on newegg i think) and then 3 80mm high flow masscool fans, and then my GPU fan and then the cathodes are on the switches.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:03 AM   #8780
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
I've got mine overloaded and it's running fine. I've got 2 scythes (ultra kaze and slipstream; both highest RPM ones on newegg i think) and then 3 80mm high flow masscool fans, and then my GPU fan and then the cathodes are on the switches.
nice!

I'll have to get one sometime here
__________________

__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0