Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2010, 02:56 AM   #8521
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
The ramsinks attach with double sided thermal tape.
That's what I thought, but didn't know if it will get loose if the card got too hot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Most people use some sort of paste that is more effective. Anyone know what that is? I am trying to find some. It isn't just ceramique is it? I will feel stupid if it is.
I don't know, but I use AS5, and that works for me. Though they said AS5 is more for noobs because there are better ones out there.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:00 AM   #8522
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

You use AS5 for RAMsinks? How does that work?
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:05 AM   #8523
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

There is a thermal adhesive, but that stuff is pretty much a permanent adhesive and not really recommend for use on video card ramsinks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
That's what I thought, but didn't know if it will get loose if the card got too hot.
Nope, mine are still holding tight after nearly 12 months.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:07 AM   #8524
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
You use AS5 for RAMsinks? How does that work?
Oh, you mean for RAMsinks? Then I don't know, I thought you were talking about for CPU and stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
Nope, mine are still holding tight after nearly 12 months.
I see. Then I will really consider getting an aftermarket cooler then. Though it would have to wait a couple to a few months. Hopefully changing the thermal compound would be good for now.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:29 AM   #8525
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Aftermarket coolers are amazing. Got my x2 on water, and nothing beats it. Never gets above 45C. idk why I ever dealt with the extreme temps of stock cooling.

This S2 looks pretty awesome. Just add a high-flow fan and do a volt mod and you have some very high clocks in the making.

http://www.svc.com/fan-acces2.html
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:41 AM   #8526
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I was looking at some aftermarket cooler benches, and some doesn't seem like they cool much (about 10c). Then again, I don't think $20 coolers will actually cool that much.

I think changing thermal and cleaning out my old 8800GT (I'm sure there are a lot of gunk in there stopping airflow) should help.

Just saw some benches for the S2. They look good so far, would be nice not having a fan and keeping it quieter.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:48 AM   #8527
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

They can make a pretty big difference actually, especially if you are running at 90C.

Don't expect negatives though, lol. You will probably lose 20 degrees or more with the ones I posted plus a nice fan and some AS5.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:50 AM   #8528
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Just noticed the S2 isn't compatible with the 8800GT

Quote:
Nvidia:
GeForce 8500, 8400 series, GeForce 7600, 7300, 6600 series, FX 5950, 5900, 5700 (Ultra) series, FX 5600, 5500, 5200 series, GeForce 4 Ti, MX series
Sucks. Also, the S1 (which is compatible) doesn't make that much of a difference. I don't know if it's worth $50-$60 (maybe more if they don't come with RAMsinks) on coolers that will cool about 5c-10c on each card.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 03:54 AM   #8529
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

It will work, just not without a fan. Hmmm.... you might wanna consider the S1 rev. 2 because of the extra heatpipes, then put a ~80CFM fan on it. epic cooling.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 04:10 AM   #8530
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I noticed the S1 comes with RAMsinks too, which is nice.
Seems like the no fan would be hotter than stock. The cooler and a fan seems like it would make it too big, which I don't really want to do. I like my cards having space between and have a PCI slot to use. Then I noticed I will also have to buy a new SLI bridge since the cooler bulges out and my current SLI bridge is solid (not bendable).

EDIT - Is it good to use AS5 on graphics cards? It seems like I would have to change it more often as if I used Arctic Ceramique, but the temps would be the same.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Anyone left? | - »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0