Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2010, 08:17 PM   #6991
Fully Optimized
 
cboucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

It's nice, let me tell you...
__________________

__________________
But I'm trying, Ringo. I'm trying real hard... to be the Shepherd.
cboucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:57 PM   #6992
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampist View Post
I would think so. I mean if it's for just replay (television for example) it really doesn't matter. Because once the feed starts the rest comes in at a steady stream.

But for computer gaming or such. I would think it MIGHT have some difference. The length that it actually makes a difference? Eh.. Not sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
Yes. Though digital signals (1 and 0) can't be messed up as easily as analog distance does degrade the signal on all cables.
Also, when it comes to HDMI cables, the brand shouldn't matter correct?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:07 PM   #6993
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Not really although there are different speed grades of hdmi cable and higher os better
http://www.extremetech.com/image_pop...sID=201,00.asp
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:16 PM   #6994
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Think 4.95 Gbps is enough for the 360 and PS3?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:27 PM   #6995
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I have the standard 2.23 gb cable on my 360 and it's fine but if u want to play it safe get the 4.96GB/s
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:32 PM   #6996
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Cool, then I'm going to get some Link Depot HDMI cables off of newegg. Thanks.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:39 PM   #6997
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampist View Post
I would think so. I mean if it's for just replay (television for example) it really doesn't matter. Because once the feed starts the rest comes in at a steady stream.

But for computer gaming or such. I would think it MIGHT have some difference. The length that it actually makes a difference? Eh.. Not sure.
Incorrect. Length does matter to a certain extent. Cable quality definitely has an effect on how far the signal can travel without any degradation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
Yes. Though digital signals (1 and 0) can't be messed up as easily as analog distance does degrade the signal on all cables.
Analog connections normally travel further than digital connections, simply because the device can salvage what is left of the degraded signal. For digital connections, it's either there or it isn't.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 12:03 AM   #6998
Fully Optimized
 
vampist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Incorrect. Length does matter to a certain extent. Cable quality definitely has an effect on how far the signal can travel without any degradation.
How is it Incorrect? I said length does matter..
But if it's just TV and your coming in from a coaxial, would it really matter much? If you don't split it a ton of times that is.
__________________
Everyone's Favorite Turd xD
ET: "Phone home!"
Geek: "ping 127.0.0.1"

"If that guy knew half the $h*t that I know, his fuzzy little head would explode. " - Matthew Farrell
vampist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 12:36 AM   #6999
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm thinking of getting this Link Depot 6ft. HDMi cable to connect a PS3 to the TV. Go for it?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 12:45 AM   #7000
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
I'm thinking of getting this Link Depot 6ft. HDMi cable to connect a PS3 to the TV. Go for it?
Go for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampist View Post
How is it Incorrect? I said length does matter..
But if it's just TV and your coming in from a coaxial, would it really matter much? If you don't split it a ton of times that is.
Quote:
I would think so. I mean if it's for just replay (television for example) it really doesn't matter.
^
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0