Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2010, 08:54 PM   #6481
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I must say that is quite impressive to have kept all of them.
__________________

__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:02 PM   #6482
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Bought two GTX 260's.
I'll either figure out a way to incorporate them into my rig, or I'll put one in an old Dell and make sure our new TV is 120Hz so I can run 3d vision without doing it all ghetto with anaglyph... that gives me the worst headache.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:08 PM   #6483
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Is there some kind of program I can run to find out what the O/S key is for a Mac (it's legitimate, but I don't have the CD or key). It's an old G4 Cube...I was thinking of installing linux, but it might be worth more to sell if I put the O/S back on it. Reason I ask is that I want to wipe my friend's old data off of it with DBAN and then reinstall (I'll probably have to see if I can find a torrent. I think it's Mac OS 9..though I'm no Apple guru).
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:09 PM   #6484
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
Is there some kind of program I can run to find out what the O/S key is for a Mac (it's legitimate, but I don't have the CD or key). It's an old G4 Cube...I was thinking of installing linux, but it might be worth more to sell if I put the O/S back on it. Reason I ask is that I want to wipe my friend's old data off of it with DBAN and then reinstall (I'll probably have to see if I can find a torrent. I think it's Mac OS 9..though I'm no Apple guru).
Mac OS doesn't use a product key.

Unless newer versions do... my last install didn't require one.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:12 PM   #6485
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Really? Weird...I did not know that. Hmm. Well, I'll see if I can torrent a legitimate copy of OS 9 and see if I can reinstall. If not, Linux it is!
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:36 PM   #6486
Daemon Poster
 
winslow33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 861
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Anybody here good at cover letters? I just wrote one I'm planning on submitting tomorrow but I want a second (or third) set of eyes look at it, I've never been great at these kind of things.
Rep up for sale
winslow33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:17 PM   #6487
Fully Optimized
 
Holysky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Bought two GTX 260's.
I'll either figure out a way to incorporate them into my rig, or I'll put one in an old Dell and make sure our new TV is 120Hz so I can run 3d vision without doing it all ghetto with anaglyph... that gives me the worst headache.
how do you get all this money!
__________________
Let's get this party started, I'm sick of begging you You make me dead inside which I give to you
Let's get this party started, You make me feel inside I want to be the one to make myself sane
Holysky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:19 PM   #6488
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Bought two GTX 260's.
I'll either figure out a way to incorporate them into my rig, or I'll put one in an old Dell and make sure our new TV is 120Hz so I can run 3d vision without doing it all ghetto with anaglyph... that gives me the worst headache.
Evga Core 216's? I'll take one off your hands if they haven't been registered.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:35 PM   #6489
Fully Optimized
 
Holysky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantofhell View Post
Evga Core 216's? I'll take one off your hands if they haven't been registered.
my fanboy radar is going off
__________________
Let's get this party started, I'm sick of begging you You make me dead inside which I give to you
Let's get this party started, You make me feel inside I want to be the one to make myself sane
Holysky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:42 PM   #6490
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Why not go on ebay and buy some nice one instead of those cheap cardboard ones nvidia gives you?
I don't like buying stuff on ebay anymore. Plus, they didn't really seem that nice and I wear glasses, so it would be pretty hard trying to find one to fit on top of my glasses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Bought two GTX 260's.
I'll either figure out a way to incorporate them into my rig, or I'll put one in an old Dell and make sure our new TV is 120Hz so I can run 3d vision without doing it all ghetto with anaglyph... that gives me the worst headache.
I haven't tried those anaglyph for awhile, so I don't remember how it was. That's the reason why I went with them, and because I didn't have the cash to buy the glasses and a 120hz monitor. Yes, you have to buy those glasses, if you don't, then you won't get past the setup screen, or at least I wasn't able to. It kept telling me to plug in that little box thing or it will make me go into discover (anaglyph). Also, playing in 3D kills your FPS, so you better watch out.
__________________

Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0