Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2017, 10:21 AM   #22801
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,051
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I just ordered a Fire HD8 for $50. I have Prime and wifi on my cable net so it should be more fun than my phone.

Almost 22K reviews with 4 of 5 stars rated. Must be pretty good but need to find out if I can get connections without my $75/mo net.

It's capable of connection with public hotspots but ain't one near here.
__________________

__________________
I'm being stalked!
Celery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 11:27 AM   #22802
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,011
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

The $50 Fire HD8 is usually with "Special Offers" (meaning advertising). Were you able to get the one without special offers for $50? They are generally priced at $65.

My first tablet a few years back was the original Fire. It was a fun tablet but unless things have changed there are some gotchas with it such as no Google Play.
__________________

strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 12:13 PM   #22803
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by root View Post
Does anyone know how the Chrome cast works.

or the chrome cast setup page has some code that can use your wireless adapter to scan for networks, and connect to networks (i.e the chromecast AP) and send information, then reconnect your existing WIFI, - without you knowing about this...

This exactly.

It switches your computer from it's home wifi network to the AP chromecast broadcasts, and then switches back after it shares the connection information.

I actually had to re-setup mine after i got a new wifi AP. I was using my phone on 5ghz, then it switched to the chromecast ap, gave it the passwords for my 2.4ghz network and then switched my phone to the 2.4 ghz network.
__________________
CPU: Ryzen 1700 GPU: MSI R9 480 4GB
RAM: 16gb DDR4 Disk: 128SSD + 2x1TB
Power: 750w asus prime b350m-a uatx mobo
Cortb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 12:22 PM   #22804
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by strollin View Post
It was a fun tablet but unless things have changed there are some gotchas with it such as no Google Play.
It looks like people can now add google play to them in 5-10 minutes. Of course it's not officially supported...


https://www.howtogeek.com/232726/how...n-fire-tablet/
__________________
CPU: Ryzen 1700 GPU: MSI R9 480 4GB
RAM: 16gb DDR4 Disk: 128SSD + 2x1TB
Power: 750w asus prime b350m-a uatx mobo
Cortb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 01:51 PM   #22805
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 3,277
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Is this fight even real? Every single fight I've seen of this guy (Bob Sapp) is as awful as the other:

I laffed my hurt out!
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 03:40 PM   #22806
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,051
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by strollin View Post
The $50 Fire HD8 is usually with "Special Offers" (meaning advertising). Were you able to get the one without special offers for $50? They are generally priced at $65.

My first tablet a few years back was the original Fire. It was a fun tablet but unless things have changed there are some gotchas with it such as no Google Play.
Yes, I have the special offers and yes, there's a workaround to get Google play.
__________________
I'm being stalked!
Celery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 07:02 AM   #22807
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2,011
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm sure Celery will be able to "side load" Google Play but most users eyes glaze over when you start telling them to download an APK.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:10 AM   #22808
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,051
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm in for a Radiofrequency Ablation procedure this morning on my neck. This is a long term pain relief method. I'm scheduled at 11:15 am.

I was supposed to have that done last week but they moved it to today so the doctor can do his Xmas thing. My neck's been hurting for months because my ins won't approve it til recently.

I need injections for my lower back too. I wonder how long that's gonna take before they say ok.

Talk about a tight wad ins.
__________________
I'm being stalked!
Celery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:27 AM   #22809
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,023
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortb View Post
This exactly.

It switches your computer from it's home wifi network to the AP chromecast broadcasts, and then switches back after it shares the connection information.

I actually had to re-setup mine after i got a new wifi AP. I was using my phone on 5ghz, then it switched to the chromecast ap, gave it the passwords for my 2.4ghz network and then switched my phone to the 2.4 ghz network.
I'm not sure I like a web page being able to "silently" change my wireless network in that way.

I would be less bothered if it asked for permission to change the network I was connected to, like this is a security flaw in the browser.
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 02:32 PM   #22810
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by root View Post
I'm not sure I like a web page being able to "silently" change my wireless network in that way.

I would be less bothered if it asked for permission to change the network I was connected to, like this is a security flaw in the browser.
I think i remember it being in the fine print that it was going to change your wifi network to get things set up, but i was using the google home application on my android phone to do it.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Ryzen 1700 GPU: MSI R9 480 4GB
RAM: 16gb DDR4 Disk: 128SSD + 2x1TB
Power: 750w asus prime b350m-a uatx mobo
Cortb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0