Random Chit Chat

Three things...

Windows has amazing Linux support! Linux is now (honestly) a core focus of their business...

It's probably not going to get support for "all the" file systems, ext 2/3/4 are now all old, I think not developed and have their own bugs anyway... There are better file systems available.

Yes, technician is banned. yes, it is permanent. yes, it is sad when long term members get banned. no, it is not one particular single thing he did or said, (so don't bother searching his post history. finally, no, it is not up for further discussion (as per the rules that state not to discuss moderator decisions.) so would kindly just suggest leaving that there.

In my current job, I travel quite a bit which causes me to drive rental cars. Rentals are current late-model vehicles and they almost always have a backup camera with a monitor in the center of the dash. This has to be the most useless "safety" feature ever. I've been driving for 50 years without this feature so most times I completely forget about it. However, the times I have tried to use it, I have found it to be severely lacking because it only shows the view directly behind me. By simply turning my head and looking over my shoulder in both directions, I can quickly take in a substantially larger view of the area.

The situation where this is superior is the one in which there is a child or other low object directly behind the vehicle, below my line-of-sight. However, I can count on 1 hand the number of times I've ever encountered that situation in my many years of driving so don't think this feature is worthwhile.

Anybody else have an opinion on these backup cameras?
I like technology in general. It usually gives more options and that is a good thing.
If you don't like it you can disable it, not use it, or buy a less well equipped (stripper) of the same vehicle.
Unless it's mandated by law you can usually order or find a car with only the features you want installed.