Random Chit Chat

To add—Were the cheetah to experience a reciprocity of the pain inflicted upon the gazelle, it would likely make the decision to starve to death instead. However, cheetahs lack the ability to experience this and, thus, continue inflicting suffering without any care for the effects of their actions.

I must be a cheetah, than. Well, at least I look like I just ate a cheetah. :D

I have no problem chowing down on meat, whether it was killed by myself or someone else.

Not sure I can answer that. I think there is some sort of neutral state, where you are not pleased or displeaced, but I don't think I can prove it.

The neutral state, in the context of my philosophy, would merely be an absence of suffering.

I'm not sure.

—video snipped—
While I'm no expert on animal behaviour, what I see here very much appears to be territorial fighting.

I must be a cheetah, than. Well, at least I look like I just ate a cheetah. :D

I have no problem chowing down on meat, whether it was killed by myself or someone else.

Would you choose to eat meat if, in order to do so, you had to experience all the suffering of the animal which you are consuming? This is the point Schopenhauer is attempting to make—that there is an inherent asymmetry in the level of suffering we are willing to inflict in order to attain "pleasure."

Last edited:
The neutral state, in the context of my philosophy, would merely be an absence of suffering.

Yes and an absence of happiness, I think.

While I'm no expert on animal behaviour, what I see here very much appears to be territorial fighting. It's quite possible that it was even necessary for the continued survival of the buffalo.

Doesn't look like it. If it was, the buffalo would attack the lion when it is on the ground.

No hamburger for me... I'm Muslim and can't eat ham. I'll just have a beefburger :p

The etymology of the word hamburger is actually derived from the city of Hamburg, Germany. Hamburgers contain no ham.