Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2017, 10:22 AM   #20571
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,246
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I didn't watch much TV but now more so because of my pains. I have to lie down a lot because of my tightwad insurance giving the pain clinics the runaround that they dropped me.

That means no pain pills and no injections. Hadn't had any since Nov.
__________________

__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:44 AM   #20572
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,246
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart_Guy View Post
In other words, otherwise you won't have that many free channels thru other reception means? Hmm... our plates here give us at least a couple hundred free channels. Not all HDTV, but all no less than clean 720x480p.

Feat your eyes on what we got covered here (F means free!):
https://www.lyngsat.com/Nilesat-201-...-7-West-A.html (all Arabic based)
https://www.lyngsat.com/Eutelsat-Hot...B-13C-13E.html (the 13 deg. E European channels).

I guess the only downside is the lack of too many HDTV ones. But 720x480p is nothing to complain about really specially if tons and tons are free. But yeah, maybe cuz I know two languages I can watch all those.

No idea who that woman is. Maybe if you quiz me a woman my type I'd know
You get all that from an antenna?
__________________

__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:47 PM   #20573
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 826
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I don't watch television.

I'd rather read.
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 06:37 PM   #20574
The Candy Man
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 10,937
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I don't watch TV all that much either, I hate all the commercials. We don't have cable or satellite TV, but our LCD TV pulls in 53 HD channels wich is fine with us.
__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:00 PM   #20575
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,303
Send a message via Skype™ to BK_123
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

We've got satellite (Think it could be IPTV) as we can't and don't have cable. It's in other parts of the country but no where I live. It works and is stable.
__________________
See all my PC spec's here https://bit.ly/1lWAJhz
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:28 PM   #20576
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,278
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Do cable channels require tuning/searching like antenna and satellite? I'm under the impression the provider just streams the subscribed channel in. If so, then it is the most convenient connection (compared to channel availability). No cable around here, but now there is IPTV thru fiber optics. I believe it reserves 10mbps of the internet connection for 1080p.

Anyway, I don't watch TV at all now. It's here for the family and I'm just a parasite living with my parents.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery View Post
You get all that from an antenna?
No, from the plates (AKA satellite dishes).
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:48 PM   #20577
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,246
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

You get a cable box that does the tuning and uploading controlled by the cable company.
__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 04:22 AM   #20578
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,303
Send a message via Skype™ to BK_123
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I finally upgraded the CPU in my Plex PC that I bought a month or two ago. Q6600 to a Q8200S for some power savings.
__________________
See all my PC spec's here https://bit.ly/1lWAJhz
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 01:37 PM   #20579
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,246
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Run any better?
__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 03:46 PM   #20580
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,278
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by BK_123 View Post
I finally upgraded the CPU in my Plex PC that I bought a month or two ago. Q6600 to a Q8200S for some power savings.
You mean electricity bills? But Celery says the PSU pulls what the PSU is rated for, no matter what or how parts save power! I presume you did not replace the PSU with another.

Ah, is it really worth it?
__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0