Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2015, 07:50 AM   #19671
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Hi SG! They show up on the second boot. Just not on a force shut down. Yes I've Sure I'm malware free!
Thanks for your reply!
Gary!
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:39 PM   #19672
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,091
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Did you say it was a laptop?
__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 12:46 PM   #19673
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Hey SG! Yes it's a Toshiba laptop. It's going on 4 years old. L775D-S7222.
It's been a decent PC. I live in a small retirement cottage and have limited space.
A lap top is all I need for what I do. I keep it tuned up and well maintained.
I think you're going to suggest heat problems. Actually it runs very cool.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture48.JPG (48.5 KB, 4 views)
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 01:49 PM   #19674
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,091
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I actually think temperature is okay.

I asked cuz the similar problem I had was on a desktop when I turned it on and the A/C in my room at the same time. Restarting solves it. Dunno what's going on, but it seems like a power problem. But with laptops I think it is different.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 01:55 PM   #19675
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,013
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

That would be a pretty good clue that the battery is dying. As the battery age it loses amperage. The PSU is not strong enough to provide the amperage so the battery provides it. The power comes from that.
__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 05:50 PM   #19676
In Runtime
 
NikonGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Probably the USA?
Posts: 440
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Guys, random chit chat, not a fix my computer thread...
__________________
Asus USB 3.0 Mobo - 16Gb DDr3 1866mhz Ram - AMD FX 6300 Hexa core 4.0Ghx OC - Corsair CX600M PSU - Corsair H80i Cooler - Gigabyte Gefore GT 730 2Gb GDDr5 - WD Blue 1tb 7200rpm - WD 360gb 5200rpm Backup drive.
NikonGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 04:28 AM   #19677
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,204
Send a message via Skype™ to BK_123
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Run this little utility BatteryInfoView - View battery information on laptops / netbooks and it should tell you the health of your battery and some other useful info..
__________________
See all my PC spec's here https://bit.ly/1lWAJhz
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 06:22 AM   #19678
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,091
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by NikonGuy View Post
Guys, random chit chat, not a fix my computer thread...
You were saying...!?
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 08:40 AM   #19679
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Hi BK! I think my battery is in good shape, but I'll give your link a look.
I've always had the icon problem not showing up on a restart. I just restart a second time and then they show up, so it's really more of a aggravation than a problem! Toshiba says my battery is in good shape! It's only the icons by the clock. Usually it's just a couple. Most of the time it's the security icons
Thanks BK!
PS The title of this thread is Random Chit Chat, so I would think there isn't any off topic. What ever! I'm just replying to members with suggestions!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture48.jpg (89.3 KB, 3 views)
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2015, 11:23 AM   #19680
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,604
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Donetao - When the icons don't show up on the task bar, do you ever expand the System Tray (click on the tiny UP arrowhead in the System Tray) to see if they are there? It might be that the system sometimes puts them there instead.
__________________

strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0