Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2015, 04:11 AM   #19561
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,203
Send a message via Skype™ to BK_123
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart_Guy View Post
I know AUS dollars have less value than US dollars, but $119 AUS dollars is still high.
We pay for the data allowance mostly and its the leading ISP. I'd be happy with any of those speeds.
__________________

__________________
See all my PC spec's here https://bit.ly/1lWAJhz
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 09:43 AM   #19562
BSOD
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
Turn it over and read the name brand.
Sorry had brain fart! It's NETGEAR.
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 03:32 PM   #19563
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,904
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Walked across an old broken bridge today.
It felt quite unstable. Still nothing special, i just want more views



__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 512GB - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 04:04 PM   #19564
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,089
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Got myself a car DC-AC 400W power inverter
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:48 AM   #19565
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,203
Send a message via Skype™ to BK_123
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

So I talked to my ISP and they didn't say anything about bumping up my speed only that they would refresh the system nor would they confirm what speed I get on the current package. I think they were also about to try and talk me into getting a new router but we got one a few months ago.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Computer Forums mobile app
__________________
See all my PC spec's here https://bit.ly/1lWAJhz
BK_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:17 AM   #19566
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,089
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Such response from the ISP is against the law where I live. Selling merchandise/service of unclear nature, that is.

Is internet that expensive in Aus? I thought it was the highest where I live.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 11:40 AM   #19567
Fully Optimized
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart_Guy View Post
Got myself a car DC-AC 400W power inverter
Cool! An inverter can be very useful in a car.

How do you plan to connect that inverter into your car's electrical system? A 400W inverter will draw 33 amps from your battery should you ever use it's full wattage output. Most inverter's come with a plug to plug into the car's cigarette lighter socket but that socket is generally wired with smaller gauge wire and only capable of handling about 12 amps of current (around 150W). If you want to use the full output of that inverter, you need to wire it directly to the battery with beefy cables capable of handling more than 33 amps of current.
strollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 04:31 PM   #19568
Fully Optimized
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,008
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Just hanging around.

__________________
I yam what I yam
Celery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 12:39 AM   #19569
Fully Optimized
 
Draygoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1,636
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

CUTE! Just shared on FB. Along with Bikers Video...
__________________
Working on new projects and expanding our horizons. Come by and see what we're up to now. www.multirotorplatforms.com/forum.php
Draygoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 05:10 PM   #19570
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,089
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by strollin View Post
Cool! An inverter can be very useful in a car.

How do you plan to connect that inverter into your car's electrical system? A 400W inverter will draw 33 amps from your battery should you ever use it's full wattage output. Most inverter's come with a plug to plug into the car's cigarette lighter socket but that socket is generally wired with smaller gauge wire and only capable of handling about 12 amps of current (around 150W). If you want to use the full output of that inverter, you need to wire it directly to the battery with beefy cables capable of handling more than 33 amps of current.
Thanks for the heads up man, that's some serious and good info.

I'm not gonna wire it, I'll use it only for my laptop on trips (or escapades, haha). The laptop's power brick does require a max or 180 watts tho, but I guess auto down clocking will take care of it for loss of some performance.

The inverter does come with both cigarette lighter plug and battery wire, a reasonably thick one for a 400 watts.

It uses a modified sinewave unfortunately (had to be that or it would be more expensive) so I'm probably not gonna use a wide variety of devices on it.

I noticed that +400 watts inverters don't come with cig lighter plug and some sources say the lighter's socket can provide up to 400 watts, but I haven't technically confirmed it yet. But I at least know that the fuse used for it is rated 20 amps as per the technical details. The same fuse is used, however, with the cruise control and the horn. This means I better not use one of those with the laptop under heavy load.

Those are my conclusions. Not sure it they make sense.
__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0