Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2013, 02:37 AM   #17741
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
There's an error in the online formula. It states to put the cir in in feet. Then does an inch to feet conversion. That's what's throwing it off. It gives a higher mph than it really is. I nabbed another formula that gives a more accurate answer as it's consistent feet through out the equation.

---------- Post added at 01:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:09 AM ----------

Thanks for your help though. You think your math is bad, mine must really stink not to catch that error. Now I have to go back and edit my post.
That formula you linked is correct. I'm not sure where you're seeing an inch to feet conversion, since the only length units it ever uses are feet and miles. Glad I could be of help though.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 05:36 AM   #17742
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,082
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Just upgraded my internet connection to ADSL2+ 16MB/1MB (Dn/Up) and rewired with CAT 6 cable.

High speed (to my needs), low latency and relatively good price.
__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 05:42 AM   #17743
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,902
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

i'm sending back my new monitor. i am not as happy with it as i had thought. it had a little backlight bleeding. also more IPS glow then i would like.
it's a too expensive monitor to have if you are not at least 95% satisfied with it.

i am buying a used 120hz 27inch samsung with only a TN full HD panel from a guy nearby for the price i gave for the one i am sending back.
i'll wait to use a big chunk of money for when OLED becomes more available on computer displays.
My dream monitor is a 27 inch 1440p (or higher) curved OLED display capable of running at 120hz. ohhh god nerd orgasm ^^
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 512GB - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:26 AM   #17744
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by BikerEcho View Post
i'm sending back my new monitor. i am not as happy with it as i had thought. it had a little backlight bleeding. also more IPS glow then i would like.
it's a too expensive monitor to have if you are not at least 95% satisfied with it.

i am buying a used 120hz 27inch samsung with only a TN full HD panel from a guy nearby for the price i gave for the one i am sending back.
i'll wait to use a big chunk of money for when OLED becomes more available on computer displays.
My dream monitor is a 27 inch 1440p (or higher) curved OLED display capable of running at 120hz. ohhh god nerd orgasm ^^
What did you have before? One of the yamakasi catleaps?
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:42 AM   #17745
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,902
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

No, it's s a syncmaster P2770, which i am getting a little tired of. i just have a sudden "need" to upgrade it. (i still haven't sold it yet)
so i got a PB278Q (which is a 1440p PLS monitor) absolutely beautiful image. but as i stated i was not satisfied with it when thinking about what i paid for it. i simply can't handle IPS glow, slightly too much bleed AND 2 dead pixels. all on arrival. so i am sending it back.
this other monitor i am looking at instead looks more appealing to me in price/"what you get" ratio.
it's a samsung sa950 i am looking at now.
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 512GB - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:17 AM   #17746
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 2,082
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm using the Samsung SA750. Almost exactly technically the same. The only differences are the DVI port, in the favor of the SA950, and the external looks.

Great monitor. Except that the bezels (frames) are not that thin for a multi-monitor setup; e.g. AMD Eyefinity and nVidia Surround. Oh, and the 1080p resolution limit.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:19 AM   #17747
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,902
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

oh great. i am not planning on having more monitors then 1. so i think i'll be fine.
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 512GB - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:33 PM   #17748
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by BikerEcho View Post
oh great. i am not planning on having more monitors then 1. so i think i'll be fine.
You should at least give it a try. When you got your new monitor, just leave the old one atached as a secondary. It actually makes a huge difference in worflow since you're not flipping around between different windows/tabs all the time.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 03:19 AM   #17749
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,902
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

i once had 2 24inch monitors on my desk. yeah it did help the workflow, but right now i think it would be a little too much to 2 27 inch on my not so big desk, and i'll rather have some money for it. but yeah, i'll try it out to see what it's like with 2 27 inch monitors. ^^
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 512GB - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 03:25 AM   #17750
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I see. You could always pick up something smaller to use as a secondary. My local thrift shop has a ton of 5:4 lcds, which make a good second monitor because they take up less desk space while still giving a decent amount of screen area.
__________________

foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0