Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2012, 06:22 AM   #16521
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Well I returned my 650D case. I was going to upload some pictures, but seeing as how I don't have it anymore, I decided not to upload them.

I did however, bought a Playstation Vita.
I'll buy a PS Vita once they get CFW Running on it. How are you finding it so far?
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:48 PM   #16522
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 666
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

My sister told me the new xbox is going to be called the 720, it sounds cheesy as crap, wondering if its true?
__________________

aPanzerIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:12 PM   #16523
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by aPanzerIV View Post
My sister told me the new xbox is going to be called the 720, it sounds cheesy as crap, wondering if its true?
Unlikely. A few Microsoft execs have called it that, but they always make sure to comment that it's just their internal name for it. It'll likely be called something entirely different. Specs are total garbage though. Gaming computers from five years ago are still better.


I just got some film.

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:39 PM   #16524
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 666
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Unlikely. A few Microsoft execs have called it that, but they always make sure to comment that it's just their internal name for it. It'll likely be called something entirely different. Specs are total garbage though. Gaming computers from five years ago are still better.


I just got some film.

whoa, any of that 35mm? i need some :P

Yeah when the 360 came out, it had somwhere aorund 512mb ram. My inspiron from 1999 came with 512mb! The origional had like 32mb and a 128k pentium 3.

What are the 720's specs?
aPanzerIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:47 PM   #16525
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Nah, I don't use 35mm anymore. Too small. It's 120 (60mm rollfilm), 4x5 inch sheet film, and some 3.25x4.25 polaroid film for proofing.

It's not really fair to directly compare the amount of RAM in the console to a normal computer. The computer will have a complex operating system as well as a bunch of various programs running in the background. The consoles don't. 512MB in an console is more comparable to 1GB in an XP machine or 2GB in a W7 one.

The specs aren't officially announced, but it's almost definitely going to have a GPU based off the Radeon HD 6670. CPU will be a custom design by Microsoft, most likely based off the PowerPC architecture to give it backwards compatibility with the 360. Six physical/six logical cores are likely. I've heard 2GB of memory from a few sources. So yeah, nothing special, but it will be a huge improvement over the current xbox.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:22 PM   #16526
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
I'll buy a PS Vita once they get CFW Running on it. How are you finding it so far?
I think it's awesome. The extra analog made some PSP game a lot easier to play with. It was well worth it for me because I had a lot of discounts. I would say I saved about $150-$200 USD.

CFW would be nice. However, I do like the online play. As far as I know, CFW takes a bit before I can play online again.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:51 AM   #16527
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

True, Does it play PS1 Games (Purchased from built in app store?)?
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:43 AM   #16528
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 666
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Nah, I don't use 35mm anymore. Too small. It's 120 (60mm rollfilm), 4x5 inch sheet film, and some 3.25x4.25 polaroid film for proofing.

It's not really fair to directly compare the amount of RAM in the console to a normal computer. The computer will have a complex operating system as well as a bunch of various programs running in the background. The consoles don't. 512MB in an console is more comparable to 1GB in an XP machine or 2GB in a W7 one.

The specs aren't officially announced, but it's almost definitely going to have a GPU based off the Radeon HD 6670. CPU will be a custom design by Microsoft, most likely based off the PowerPC architecture to give it backwards compatibility with the 360. Six physical/six logical cores are likely. I've heard 2GB of memory from a few sources. So yeah, nothing special, but it will be a huge improvement over the current xbox.
PowerPC? good gawd. But I guess for a 6670 and 2gb, it doesn't sound bad.
I remember playing Half Life 2 on the origional xbox, it was modified because I remember some things missing(random objects) and some super horrifying graphics, it still lagged! probably cause the 32mb ram.
aPanzerIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:53 PM   #16529
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
True, Does it play PS1 Games (Purchased from built in app store?)?
Unfortunately no. Unless its different in other regions, but PS1 games are not supported yet. They announced that the Vita does not support flash or PS1 games at launch. That's a couple of the downsides. However, I don't really care about flash and I got vita games to keep me busy from play my PS1 games on the go. So it doesn't affect me much.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:38 PM   #16530
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by aPanzerIV View Post
PowerPC? good gawd. But I guess for a 6670 and 2gb, it doesn't sound bad.
I remember playing Half Life 2 on the origional xbox, it was modified because I remember some things missing(random objects) and some super horrifying graphics, it still lagged! probably cause the 32mb ram.
Haha, I remember that as well. I tried playing it about a year ago. Load screens took absolutely forever, and the framerate would frequently drop to slideshow range.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0