Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2011, 10:25 PM   #16281
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
Fish will only grow to the appropriate size as their tank allows.
Technically, yes. But that's because they die before they can grow larger.


Seriously, for a tank to stunt the growth of a fish to that degree, it needs to be massively undersized - like 10% of the size it should be. The growth is only stunted because the fish is unhealthy from toxins built up in the water.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:38 PM   #16282
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Actual.
Will my fish only grow to the size of their tank/home? | Love Your Pond Blog
__________________

__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:48 PM   #16283
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
The best example to demonstrate this that I think will be familiar to most people is the goldfish in the bowl example.
Yep, they have no idea what they're talking about. Keeping a goldfish in a tiny bowl with no filtration or aeration is not appropriate and will cause ammonia levels to build up ridiculously high. This is what causes the stunted growth, not "the fish cannot move around so it stays small." I've seen Oscars grow to 30cm or more in a <30 gallon tank which had proper filtration and nearly constant water change, and I've also seen them stunted to like 15-20 in tanks that were 100 gallons or more but rarely cleaned. These stunted ones also had major health problems, such as fin rot, HITH, HLLE, etc.


It isn't impossible to stunt a fish's growth (it's actually quite easy) but it is nearly impossible to do so while keeping toxin levels within safe ranges and giving them enough food/oxygen. Basically, don't try it if you care about your fish.


The growth hormone level does play a part in it, but not nearly as much as other things, especially if you have appropriate filtration. Basically, smaller tanks will require much more powerful filtration and more frequent water changes, which will keep the levels consistent with much larger tanks, assuming the water parameters are kept to the same standards.


I have heard about people keeping the water a few degrees cooler than normal to slow the growth (it kinda slows everything...). In theory it'd be okay as long as you still keep it within safe range (their immune system starts going to hell if you set it too cold). If you really feel the need to try this, look up the appropriate temperature range for the species, and set the heater to a degree or two above the lowest temp on there, no lower. This will also reduce the nitrogen levels somewhat, but the water will hold less oxygen, so you will need more powerful aeration. A couple weeks before you put the fish back in the pond, start ramping the temperature up until it matches that of the pond water.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:56 PM   #16284
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

your impossible
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:28 AM   #16285
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
your impossible
As someone who used to be into fishkeeping, he's right.
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 08:09 AM   #16286
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Are there any programs that allows gpu based encoding for AMD? All I can find on Google is Avivo. The other is Cuda, but as far as I know, that is nvidia.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 11:04 AM   #16287
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Are there any programs that allows gpu based encoding for AMD? All I can find on Google is Avivo. The other is Cuda, but as far as I know, that is nvidia.
I've tried GPU encoding, and it's always proved to be pretty much useless. It may run 3% faster, if you're lucky. Just use your CPU. Handbrake is excellent for AMD CPUs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
your impossible
Haha, pretty much.


My local grocery store has coca cola from Mexico. Wow, this stuff is good.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:33 PM   #16288
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,676
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Found this yesterday... I love it

[video=youtube;yHJOz_y9rZE]
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:48 PM   #16289
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Here's my favorite.

[video=youtube;dmoDLyiQYKw]
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:05 PM   #16290
Daemon Poster
 
VINMAN46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,123
Send a message via AIM to VINMAN46
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
By "those sucker fish," I assume you're referring to plecostomus. They typically grow to about 18-24". A crab I'm not totally sure about, but I've always heard that it's best to avoid them because they can hurt the fish.


Are you keeping the koi in a pond? When fully grown, it will need several thousand gallons minimum, and the pond should be at least 1 meter deep with an appropriate heater for winter.

Koi 6 inches and bigger are staying in the pond for the winter most of the smaller baby's (around 4 inches) are going in a tank

So they should only been in there for a few months
__________________

VINMAN46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0