Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2011, 05:01 PM   #16171
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

It's only 50 amps at 12v, so 600 watts.

Personally, I'd remove the side of the case and unplug all but two or three of the fans. You should be fine like that for a little while. Just leave your video cards at stock voltage.


Tropical storm all weekend. Oh how I hate Louisiana...
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 05:06 PM   #16172
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Psu says 700w on it.

HIS recomends 50A for CF

I was going to upgrade the Psu for Bulldozer

ya buddy! Newegg.com - Antec CP-1000 1000W Continuous ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply Exclusively for - Twelve Hundred(1200)/P183/P193/DF-85

115amps and 1000w

that should work
__________________

__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 06:33 PM   #16173
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Dang I'm getting like 13 fps in need for speed undercover with my new video card my old 8600 got like 40 at these settings WTF
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:36 PM   #16174
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
Dang I'm getting like 13 fps in need for speed undercover with my new video card my old 8600 got like 40 at these settings WTF
driver issues?
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:11 PM   #16175
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Are SSD more reliable than HDD? I know that its normal for a HDD to die in under a year, but what about SSD? I also know that the more read/writes the SSD does, the faster they die out. However, what if they were both used in the same condition?

Also, I noticed newegg is having some ram on sale. However, there is a difference. The timings on the newegg ones are 9, where as mine is 8. Will I get any compatibility issues on normal usage and using the unganged mode. I didnt mess with any of time settings btw, so the current (default) timings are 9 (according to CPU-Z).
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:16 PM   #16176
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I know that its normal for a HDD to die in under a year
Wait, what? I have never had a hard drive fail, and I've several that have been in constant use since 5+ years ago.

As far as the RAM, it should all use the lowest speeds/timings, but you can adjust in the BIOS. It may be a bit of a pain though, so I suggest making sure your RAM all matches.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:31 PM   #16177
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Well, not fully fail within a year, but to get bad sectors and stuff. My older drives had been doing well, however, my two newest one (one from my Sony laptop HDD, and my 1TB samsung) both got bad sectors within a year. I started researching about that, and a lot of people from other forums said its pretty normal for them to get errors/bad sectors within a year.

I guess I will skip on the RAM, I'll just get them whenever I need more than 4GB.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 10:32 PM   #16178
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I really hope so! I am having other video errors mentioned in my other thread that I just updated and about an hour I got a bsod rebooted and checked the reliability logs and it said video hardware error. I really hope it is just drivers and not the card itself I just got it like a month ago and now I m out of the country so returning it and replacing it would prove to be a timely hassle.

I feel like if my computer acts up its like pulling life support.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 03:53 AM   #16179
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Upgrades, Inbound.
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 12:22 PM   #16180
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
I really hope so! I am having other video errors mentioned in my other thread that I just updated and about an hour I got a bsod rebooted and checked the reliability logs and it said video hardware error. I really hope it is just drivers and not the card itself I just got it like a month ago and now I m out of the country so returning it and replacing it would prove to be a timely hassle.

I feel like if my computer acts up its like pulling life support.
Did you boot into safe mode and run driver sweeper for the nvidia drivers? If not, do so, and also remove the amd drivers. then reinstall the amd drivers.

Have you tested the card in another system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Well, not fully fail within a year, but to get bad sectors and stuff. My older drives had been doing well, however, my two newest one (one from my Sony laptop HDD, and my 1TB samsung) both got bad sectors within a year. I started researching about that, and a lot of people from other forums said its pretty normal for them to get errors/bad sectors within a year.
Yeah, bad sectors are normal, but you shouldn't even know about them. The hard drive has extra space on it that the firmware uses to automatically replace bad sectors.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0