Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2011, 10:51 AM   #15971
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Got the POS overclocked to 2ghz from 1.53 Ghz
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 01:46 PM   #15972
Daemon Poster
 
dudelewis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 765
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I still can't figure out how to make nice cities in SimCity 4...
I'm also debating if I should use my Vendetta 2 on my new setup. Though it will block out two RAM slots.
Its all in the street layout. 5x5 blocks with streets and a road instead of every third street. add avenues as needed. subway/bus stop every other block, so you have either a subway or bus station on every block
1 city full of nothing but dirty industry, with the neighboring city being nothing but residential and commercial, and hitech industry once its time (you need to switch back and forth between the cities so each one gets growth, and the demands for each zone feed of each other, so if you residential city has a high demand for industry, so will the industry city). That's all I can think of off the top of my head, there's gotta be loads more.
__________________

__________________
Athlon II x2 255 @ 3.1ghz | 4 gb ddr3 ram| 500+80 gb wd hd | Sapphire 5450 | Win7 | Hanns G 20"

Toshiba Satellite | Core2Duo @ 2.0 ghz | 3gb ram | 250 gb hd | lolintelgma | Ubuntu 10.04
dudelewis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:00 AM   #15973
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Does 5x5 work better than 4x4?

I tried the industry as a neighboring city, and its working out pretty well. Except I can never go high tech. I guess I need to play around more.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 08:54 AM   #15974
Daemon Poster
 
dudelewis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 765
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I like 5x5 because its usually the biggest you can go without getting "no car" zots. For High Tech, play with the taxes in the residential city so there's no demand for dirty of manufacturing then lots for HT. You also need a good education for your people . Also need water and rich people and parks help.
__________________
Athlon II x2 255 @ 3.1ghz | 4 gb ddr3 ram| 500+80 gb wd hd | Sapphire 5450 | Win7 | Hanns G 20"

Toshiba Satellite | Core2Duo @ 2.0 ghz | 3gb ram | 250 gb hd | lolintelgma | Ubuntu 10.04
dudelewis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 06:48 PM   #15975
Baseband Member
 
Card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 88
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I made some cheese soup and I almost puked two hours after eating it. Not recommend.. Makes you sick.
Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:37 AM   #15976
Daemon Poster
 
The_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 749
Send a message via ICQ to The_Lucas Send a message via MSN to The_Lucas Send a message via Yahoo to The_Lucas
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
man I've been using ubuntu 9.10 on this old rig for a long time maybe finally time for an upgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dngrsone View Post
I'd avoid 11.04 for the time being.

I tried it, but ended up going back to 10.04.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabbs View Post
I upgraded to 11.04 not too long ago. Personally don't care for the UI, going to go back to 10.04 when I stop being lazy.
You guys know that you can change the desktop environment to 10.10's by logging out, clicking your username, and then selecting "Ubuntu Classic" from the drop down menu on the bottom of the screen? Easy.
__________________
The Enigma Community
http://enigmacommunity.org
My Blog
http://lucasbytegeni.us
Quote:
Originally Posted by krone6 View Post
Doesn't "loatheing" something the same as "love?" Whenever i hear it be used the person "loves" that product or service or whatever it is they're talking about.
The_Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:00 AM   #15977
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Lucas View Post
You guys know that you can change the desktop environment to 10.10's by logging out, clicking your username, and then selecting "Ubuntu Classic" from the drop down menu on the bottom of the screen? Easy.
Yes, I know. It doesn't change the fact that Ubuntu One drags the whole system down, and without Unity, why use 11.04 at all?

As it stands, Libre Office will not open my OOo database, I am using Banshee just fine in 10.04, and I can have my fancy graphics crap in 10.04 Gnome2 without breaking things.

When Unity matures, then I will go there again. Otherwise, I might try a different flavor--I'm not a fan of KDE, but xubuntu looks pretty, and lubuntu looks just like Win2k (though that might trip me up on occasion...).
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:55 AM   #15978
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm on mint right now I have given up on ubuntu for a while. I think it still uses elements of the unity interface without actual unity though which still makes it a bit slow on my old 9 year old rig that I have to use until I get the parts to fix my main rig
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 09:43 AM   #15979
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I've applied for a temporary job as an "IT Support Officer" over the summer, from two weeks time until mid/end of september. Wish me luck - I should find out by friday!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:24 AM   #15980
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm getting burned out wrestling with computers... I just want my laptop to work, is that too much to ask?
__________________

__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0