Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2011, 03:36 AM   #15901
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantofhell View Post
You had said "very first case I ever bought" so I jokingly implied you had stolen all the ones before. ;p Post specs/pics in hw and link it here plox. I work long hours 6 days a week so skimming on the forums is difficult. [/whining]
Eh, I'm too lazy to take pictures of the internals. It's more or less the same as before. I will post benches and stuff later after I install all my games and clean/defrag. It takes me about 8 hours to do this... Why did I buy so many Steam games?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:35 PM   #15902
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I should start transferring my old PC parts to my very first case I have bought. Then when tomorrow comes, I will be ready to put my new PC parts into my current case.
Ugh. This is what I have to do for my parent's computer I'm upgrading with my parts. My old Raidmax Smilodon case doesn't allow the PSU to be removed without first removing my board. Mostly because I have the HDT-S1283 on there. I had to completely tear apart my most recent desktop that I was using in order to get the PSU out for my new build I just did. So right now I'm going to "bench build" my parent's, then make sure everything's tip top before I swap the OCZ PSU from their current case/build, put it in my OLD Raidmax case, and put everything back in there. GOSH DANG. This is why I will now only buy full towers for my family for the rest of my life. Goodness. I cannot stand tearing things apart that are working perfectly every time I just need to swap parts. Haha.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 3.4GHz || GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 || Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3-1600 || EVGA GeForce GTX 480 || Samsung EVO 256GB SSD
my feet get cold and that gives me diarrhea sometimes - Smart_Guy
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:39 PM   #15903
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Meh. I don't even bother with cases anymore...
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:26 PM   #15904
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I can't justify buying a new case for my rig now but it is getting real beat up from 4 years of moving from different houses and being in back of moving trucks where huge china hutches and tables are not tied down and free to move about banging into all my stuff so now it has dents in the back that cause my wireless card and video card to not be able to be screwed in anymore so they sometimes come loose. I'll likely just wait until I find need for a new computer and do that.

Does anyone here ever just move their parts from their current pc into a new case when not building a new pc? I mean just replacing their case for one reason or another
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:52 PM   #15905
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I've done case replacements before...
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:56 AM   #15906
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
Ugh. This is what I have to do for my parent's computer I'm upgrading with my parts. My old Raidmax Smilodon case doesn't allow the PSU to be removed without first removing my board. Mostly because I have the HDT-S1283 on there. I had to completely tear apart my most recent desktop that I was using in order to get the PSU out for my new build I just did. So right now I'm going to "bench build" my parent's, then make sure everything's tip top before I swap the OCZ PSU from their current case/build, put it in my OLD Raidmax case, and put everything back in there. GOSH DANG. This is why I will now only buy full towers for my family for the rest of my life. Goodness. I cannot stand tearing things apart that are working perfectly every time I just need to swap parts. Haha.
Yeah, that's one thing that usually prevents me from working on some PC with big CPU HSF. Makes it so hard to take apart one certain part. This is one reason why I have to get a case where I mount the PSU on the bottom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
Does anyone here ever just move their parts from their current pc into a new case when not building a new pc? I mean just replacing their case for one reason or another
I did it quite a lot back then. I either changed because I found a case that was either cooler, better cable management, better airflow, or all the above.

I still haven't benched my PC yet. Still in the process of restoring all my programs and games. I noticed my computer is a bit slower when doing HDD intensive things. I'm wondering if this is normal. I never experienced this when I was on my old PC. The differences so far are CPU, RAM, mobo, and OS (changed from 32 bit to 64 bit). My PC runs perfectly when not doing anything CPU intensive. Gonna try running some HDD tests tonight.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:02 PM   #15907
Baseband Member
 
Card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 88
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

When was the last time your PC smelled like something was burning?

Mine was about an year and half ago.. And now I have cleaned my pc so there isn't hair and dust lodged in all the time..
Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:24 PM   #15908
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Last month, when my motherboard blew up...
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:26 PM   #15909
Baseband Member
 
Card's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 88
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Aww.. I always thought my PC was going to explode or something. But no fire, fortunately.
Just some dust there..
Card is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 10:15 PM   #15910
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 49
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

OMG just a sidenote.
HOW DOES THIS THREAD HAVE 1061 PAGES!@
__________________

thatguywhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0