Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2011, 11:22 PM   #15651
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I only have a laptop; I am online right now only because I happened to have burned an Ubuntu 11.04 CD last week to test drive.

I don't know if my drive overheated from playing Minecraft on it or what... I'm pretty sure the extra heat from gaming is what killed my battery.

I was this | | close to buying a 500GB drive down at the Office Max too, but decided that a free 320GB replacement was just fine. I still have to buy a terabyte drive for backing up to, since my existing 250GB backup drive is pretty much full.
__________________

__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 11:39 PM   #15652
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

yes, 1.5 G(bit)ps is 1, 2.0 is 3, 3.0 is 6. And I imagine 4.0 will be 12.

SATA3.0 devices should be backwards compatible to SATAII ports. So, you can still buy 3.0 drives to future proof yourself. I would suggest the OCZ drive I listed earlier.
Also, Crucial's C300 SATAIII MLC line starts at 129.99 for 64GB. C300's offer faster reads, but significantly slower reads. So it's up to you what you would want. Personally, I prefer faster writes too, since OS constantly writes cache and PF.
__________________

__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:08 AM   #15653
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
C300's offer faster reads, but significantly slower reads
what? lol

i didnt see the SSD you posted?
but i did find this one Newegg.com - OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
would 3Gb/s really bottleneck that SSD even if it runs at 500Mb/s?

also, i dont see anywhere it saying that it will run on Sata II?
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 12:22 AM   #15654
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Been a long week. Sorry man. I meant to post the drive you did in your post. (or the list of SATAIII drives from OCZ...)
And I meant "C300 offers faster reads, but significantly slower writes"

And you have a slight misconception in speed. SATAII supports up to 3Gbps, where OCZ lists its drive can read at speeds up to 550MBps.

A BIT is 1/8 of a BYTE. So, 3Gbps is really only 375MBps

EDIT: If I remember correctly, drives of a newer generation support (but are still limited by) ports of older gens. Same with USB, same with PCI-E, right? I KNOW that drives of old gens run on ports of newer gens.

EDIT2: Ahh, yes...I remember now. SATA II and SATAIII devices come with two prongs that allow you to add a jumper, which drops the device's operation back a generation. At least someone upstairs is thinking
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:19 AM   #15655
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

ahh i see. so if a Sata III SSD is rated for 550Mb/s but while in my system it will run in Sata II Mode, should it just max out Sata II speeds at around 350Mb/s ?

So in theory Sata III SSD, in Sata II mode will still destroy older gen Sata II SSDs that clame 285Mb/s

Correct?
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 06:52 AM   #15656
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Achievement Unlocked!

So Bloody true.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 07:40 AM   #15657
Daemon Poster
 
Dngrsone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 806
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Nice. I've got about a third of those...
__________________
Civility, Substance, Subtlety, Style: Success
Dngrsone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 01:59 PM   #15658
BSOD
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 582
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Can't wait to start building my own computer when I'm older and can afford it.
clacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 02:39 PM   #15659
Fully Optimized
 
Grantofhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,753
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I built a media PC for myself on about a 300 USD budget.

EDIT: yes, Sniper. A SATAIII device set to gen2 would run at max capabilities of the gen2 port. What makes SSD's beautiful isn't really the read/write - It's the seek times.
__________________
RD-PC -//- i7 950 // Evga x58 SLI // 3x2 OCZ PC3-12800 // 2x Evga GTX470 // Corsair HX850 // SilverStone TJ07
Grantofhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 05:13 PM   #15660
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Is it normal that my 1GB 5870 says it has less than 1GB (965 Mb according to Shogun 2 Total War)?
I remember my older cards that has 256 MB or 512 MB always says the right size.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0