Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2011, 03:16 PM   #15051
Fully Optimized
 
rohan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Awesome, thanks. I'm just looking for a cheap PSU to put in my HTPC so I can use its 700w gamexstream elsewhere. Looks like I'll be ordering it tonight.
What is your budget? I can look around for some Antec ones on sale.
__________________

__________________
Macook 13.3

2.13Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-2GB DDR2 800 Mhz-500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue- Nvidia 9400M
rohan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 03:20 PM   #15052
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
I'm getting about 8000 ppd from my GX2. Fahmon refuses to work with GPU clients on my computer, so I cannot get an exact number. Also, 916 ppd from a SMP client is terrible. My 955 at stock gets me 4000-5000 depending on the WU. Did you forget to add the -smp flag to your shortcut or something? Or are you not using a passkey?


BFG Power supply - yes or no?
FahMon doesn't work with GPU clients for me, either - at least, it doesn't for the PPD count.

I've just set up a passkey.

I have also just realised that I didn't have smp 4 set on my phenom machine. FML. I was wondering why an Athlon II x2 240 machine was getting ~x2 the PPD estimate as me.
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:09 PM   #15053
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 732
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
9800 GX2 + 9600 GSO G92. I switched to older drivers and it worked fine.



I get no error at all. It just halts.


It seems that every other driver nvidia releases causes instability in some form. What's going on?
It's because the nvidia drivers flash a new BIOS onto your card occasionally. My friend had the BIOS flashed improperly somehow which is why he got random BSODs until he figured it out.
__________________
My Desktop: Intel Core i7-970@4.5GHz 1.39V Stable--ASUS P6X58D-E--6GB Supertalent Chrome (Elpida Hyper) 1800MHz 6-6-6-24--eVGA GTX 580--Intel 510 120GB--WD 2TB Caviar Black--Silverstone RV03-EK Supreme HF w/ Black Ice GTX 480--Koolance VID-NX580

My Laptop: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.4GHz--4GB DDR2 800MHz RAM--NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT-320GB hard drive
shozzking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 04:14 PM   #15054
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
FahMon doesn't work with GPU clients for me, either - at least, it doesn't for the PPD count.

I've just set up a passkey.

I have also just realised that I didn't have smp 4 set on my phenom machine. FML. I was wondering why an Athlon II x2 240 machine was getting ~x2 the PPD estimate as me.
It turns out I DID have -smp 4 set. I tried turning off the GPU client, and the SMP client went up to 6000PPD. I will stick with that!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 06:18 PM   #15055
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

So apparently, I definitely need to find a job now. Why? Financial aid decided to take my grants away for some reason. So I have to talk to them about it. A family car decided not to start anymore, and not sure how much it would cost to fix. My parents doesn't have much money to help pay for my tuition.

I need to find a place that will give me a loan, doesn't require me to pay until I finish college, and won't charge extra if I decide to pay some of it off early.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:33 PM   #15056
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan23 View Post
What is your budget? I can look around for some Antec ones on sale.
As cheap as possible. The BFG one is $30 shipped, so I doubt there will be anything cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
It turns out I DID have -smp 4 set. I tried turning off the GPU client, and the SMP client went up to 6000PPD. I will stick with that!
Try limiting the GPU client to like 10% CPU usage. It will probably bottleneck the GPU client, but it's worth a shot.

EDIT: I need more rubber bands.

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 02:59 AM   #15057
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Hey guys...how's it going? Been a few days since I've last posted. Anybody new (that's active)? Anyone gone into the depths of real life (such as myself)?
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 03:47 AM   #15058
Fully Optimized
 
rohan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
Hey guys...how's it going? Been a few days since I've last posted. Anybody new (that's active)? Anyone gone into the depths of real life (such as myself)?
Do we know this guy?

__________________
Macook 13.3

2.13Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-2GB DDR2 800 Mhz-500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue- Nvidia 9400M
rohan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:27 AM   #15059
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Whats the secret password.
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:56 AM   #15060
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm so sick of Dell. The 2.2 update for my phone has been delayed AGAIN. How freaking hard can it be? It took two nights to get cyanogenmod ported to the thing.

EDIT: meh, I installed a custom rom. The phone is so much more usable now. I hope it doesn't break now.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0