Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2011, 03:29 AM   #14961
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINMAN46 View Post
hopefully new folding card he has been dropping it these past 2 weeks
Zotac GTX 260 Video Card
Dang, that's an awesome deal. It should get something like 7k ppd.

My mobo and monitor came in today. It turns out that the s775 mobo didn't have s775 mounting holos, so I had to bolt down some aluminum strips over the top of the heatsink. It works, but I'm not really comfortable with how much it bends the mobo. Anyway, I just got the folding rig set up, only to find that my wireless card no longer works. So, I guess it'll be another week before I can actually get it folding.


I'm working on getting my monitor setup right now.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:56 AM   #14962
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

what cards will be in it?

An thats some high electric usage.
__________________

__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:44 AM   #14963
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
what cards will be in it?

An thats some high electric usage.
It has a 9600 gso a.k.a. 8800 gs and a 9800 gx2. It actually doesn't use a ton of power. I think I figured 400 watts, though it may be a bit less.


On to the problem...



I hate DRM. The software companies apparently think it's okay to treat legitimate buyers like criminals. Seriously, this game was apparently only good for five installs. So basically, ea expects everyone to have one computer and never reformat. The worst part is that I didn't even want to play the game. All I was trying to do was test the stereo effect of my new monitor. Since that's the only game I brought, I now have to wait twenty hours to download bad company 2 over our 1 megabit connection. Just to see what 3D gaming looks like.

/RANT
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 05:21 AM   #14964
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Yeah, DRM does suck. I wonder if that will affect Steam users. I'm assuming no as you need to be signed into Steam anyways just to play Steam purchased games anyways.

What game are you trying to install by the way?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 05:53 AM   #14965
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

It's crysis warhead. But really, I'm just trying to get any game installed.

I did download the 3D trailer for Pirates of the Caribbean 4, and it was somewhat impressive. The 3D definitely worked better than the 3D TVs I've used, but it still did the cardboard cutout effect when people were standing more than a few feet from the camera. I also noticed a bit of crosstalk, but it wasn't too severe. I doubt I will be able to use this on a regular basis, but it's definitely pretty cool. I'll get a full review up in a week or two.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 06:39 AM   #14966
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

When I try to game on my Sony Viao, and I enable Vsync, it always locks my frames at 30FPS. I've tried vsync on 2 games, Street Fighter IV and Starcraft II. When I disable vsync, it runs past 60FPS and does screen tearing. Anyway to fix this?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 06:51 AM   #14967
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Have you tried using D3Doverrider?
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 09:20 AM   #14968
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
That sounds really odd. Why would Windows 8 support ARM? Nobody uses it for desktops. It'd make a lot more sense if their server OS supported ARM though.


Oh, and RISC OS never really died. It's still under active development. A lot of people still use it.
Why?
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:10 PM   #14969
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Because servers tend to be used for very specific purposes, and thus require little third party software. If Windows went to ARM for normal pcs, it would be bad for developers because they would have to support both architectures. That is the total opposite of what microsoft would want.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 01:54 PM   #14970
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

But the ARM don't produce any processors that come close to matching intels latest Xeons - and I think it's fair to say that your average server needs to be faster than your average desktop... so how would Having an ARM compatible version of Windows Server, but NOT an ARM version of consumer versions of windows help?
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0