Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2010, 03:12 AM   #14681
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
The only games I plan on running on it are like games made in 2005, or games that doesn't require much (like indies games). Seems like most laptops within that price range will have either the 4250, or the Intel HD integrated.
You will probably still have trouble. I could only get Prey to run at 800x600 at minimum settings on my brother's laptop with a 4250, and it still had bad frame dips when in large areas or when there were lots of enemies.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:29 AM   #14682
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Seems like the only laptop I found that is within my price range that has a better integrated graphics is the Acer Aspire AS5553G-5357.

EDIT - Are there usually sales on laptops on the day after New Years?
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:39 AM   #14683
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

dont monitors for Eyefinity need that dysplay port? i dont think any of them monitors had them.
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:42 AM   #14684
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Only for the third monitor, and the display port uses an adapter. Which then you connect and DVI or HDMI to it.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:44 AM   #14685
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

so you buy any 3 screens, and a dyspepsia port adapter separate?
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:47 AM   #14686
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Seems like the only laptop I found that is within my price range that has a better integrated graphics is the Acer Aspire AS5553G-5357.
Specs are excellent, but Acer laptops are kind of a crap shoot. They're either very good or very bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
so you buy any 3 screens, and a dyspepsia port adapter separate?
Yep. The sapphire Displayport adapter is pretty cheap though.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:48 AM   #14687
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
so you buy any 3 screens, and a dyspepsia port adapter separate?
I think you should buy the same exact 3 screens. Might be weird having multiple displays with different screen sizes and not being in native resolution. Then get this for the third monitor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Specs are excellent, but Acer laptops are kind of a crap shoot. They're either very good or very bad.
Yeah, that's whats preventing me from buying it.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:50 AM   #14688
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
I think you should buy the same exact 3 screens. Might be weird having multiple displays with different screen sizes and not being in native resolution. Then get this for the third monitor.
Yeah, definitely get three of the same screen. I've tried lining up different models. It is a pita to get them aligned, and it looks horrible, especially when the bezels are different thicknesses or when the stands are different heights.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:45 AM   #14689
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quick question. Where do I go to buy laptop batteries.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:12 AM   #14690
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
Things tend to look better at their native resolutions.
Are you daft? High definition content will look fine on any average computer monitor set at its native resolution. Buying a monitor with that specific resolution is a waste and limits your options.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
So what if it was developed for televisions? Gaming tends to be better on a wide screen. General usage is fine on either.
You're loosing pixels. It's a way for manufacturers to save costs. The LCD panel in my iMac looks fantastic, but you can notice the difference with a 16:9 aspect ratio monitor in comparison to a 16:10 display.

16:10 is the perfect balance between productivity and multimedia. Don't fall into the marketing hype of 16:9 monitors.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0