Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2010, 10:28 PM   #14631
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

that's what I was thinking too. for a measly $15 difference, I figured the 2ms would even be worth it. I was just wondering about shady reviews, but half the people are just plain stupid who review crap on newegg. i find most people only take time to review if they have a gripe, not a compliment.
__________________

dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:33 PM   #14632
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_56013 View Post
that's what I was thinking too. for a measly $15 difference, I figured the 2ms would even be worth it. I was just wondering about shady reviews, but half the people are just plain stupid who review crap on newegg. i find most people only take time to review if they have a gripe, not a compliment.
Yep, that's how it usually works with reviews. The only thing I look for in them is a consistent problem. If there isn't one, the product is probably fine.

ASUS monitors tend to be extremely high quality, like their other products. I'd definitely go for it.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:40 PM   #14633
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Yup. I've always ordered ASUS monitors for clients, but never one for myself, and never an LED.

Also, back on the CPU deal, there's no way I'm going to justify the price tag on the i7-950. I'm reading mixed reviews as to what's better, but right now, I think I'll be basing a future system of the AMD X6 1090T. I'm adding the major components up right now.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:50 PM   #14634
Daemon Poster
 
VINMAN46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,123
Send a message via AIM to VINMAN46
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Sandy bridge drops next month
first post on my X too
VINMAN46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:11 PM   #14635
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINMAN46 View Post
Sandy bridge drops next month
Probably extremely overpriced like usual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINMAN46 View Post
first post on my X too
As in...? Like DroidX?
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:15 PM   #14636
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

So much for my HTPC. I have to go return the PSU since there is an clicking noise from it. I think I will just get a refund. I barely use my HTPC anyways.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:45 PM   #14637
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Not going to create a thread because if I do build a new system it'll be after Christmas..but I just looked through the core components I'd need to replace and it's only about $420. That's for the MB, CPU, and RAM. That's not as bad as I thought it'd be. SOOO glad I have a beefy PSU and 2 x 750GB WD blacks already (currently in RAID1, but I'll most likely reinstall and convert them to RAID0 for some speed with the new build). Plus my 2 optical drives. That'll save cash for sure.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 02:13 AM   #14638
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Does having multiple HDD slow down your computer? If there is, what is the difference in performance between 2 HDD and 4 HDD?
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:57 AM   #14639
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Does having multiple HDD slow down your computer? If there is, what is the difference in performance between 2 HDD and 4 HDD?
Are you talking RAID or just having multiple slave drives?
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:34 AM   #14640
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by VINMAN46 View Post
Sandy bridge drops next month
first post on my X too
The're on sale in Malaysia already it seems...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Does having multiple HDD slow down your computer? If there is, what is the difference in performance between 2 HDD and 4 HDD?
In a non RAID array multiple HDD's has no effect on a computers overall performance.
__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0