Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2010, 10:55 PM   #13211
Daemon Poster
 
Legodude522's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,292
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
Well I don't think it's AWFUL. It's above average, but I don't think that it would be lethal...

Rat's can ingest food with 400 PPM Uranium and be OK - Take a look at: http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?record_id=25&page=530

I'd imagine that it would depend on what isotope of Uranium it was, as well.
I don't know what isotope it is. It's from NIST SRM 2781 soil standard and it's not even listed on the certificate. I got about 60 grams of it on my desk at work. Once I get my hands on a sensitive enough Geiger counter I'll check it out. I've found out there was Uranium after testing the soil samples on an XRF gun and I'm getting consistent readings on multiple guns.
__________________

__________________
PC: AMD Phenom 9950 2.6ghz Quad Core, ATI Radeon HD 5770, 8gb DDR2 RAM
Phone: Apple iPhone 5s 64gb (jailbroken)
Handheld Games: Nintendo 3DS XL, Tapwave Zodiac 2, GamePark Holdings GP2X F100
Legodude522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:22 AM   #13212
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Does anyone here know where the option is to enable non market applications in android 1.6? It`s not in settings>application settings like on my iphone.

Other than that, loving the streak. My only real complaints so far are the terrible keyboard that I can`t get to go away and the way that 90% of apps cannot use the whole screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
What would be cheeper,
Buy a decent blu ray w hdmi out and surround sound,
Or build a blu ray playing htpc? I already got a copy of windows xp and a blu ray drive.

But in my pc (sig) some movies like avayar freak out an get choppy and pixalllated, idk y.
It would be cheaper to buy a set top blu ray player, but you will get superior video quality and a lot more features with a htpc

Just be sure to use a video card that supports CUDA.
__________________

__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:39 AM   #13213
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I know that at least one carrier (It might have been AT&T...) has disallowed non-market applications on their android handsets.
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:57 AM   #13214
meh.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
I know that at least one carrier (It might have been AT&T...) has disallowed non-market applications on their android handsets.
Sounds like AT&T.

I just wanted to play frets on fire on it...

http://www.streaksmart.com/2010/08/y...ll-streak.html Gosh I hate AT&T. I'm in the process of installing the 654522455 programs required to root this thing, just so I can flash the O2 ROM. At least I might be able to get 2.1 going this way.

OK, I really need some help here. It's just issue after issue after issue. All I need to do is root the Streak. To do this, I have to sideload universal androot or install superboot. AT&T has sideloading disabled, so I tried Sideload Wonder Machine. It needs Dell's software, so I installed that. Dell's software freaked out at W7 64 and refuses to acknowledge the existence of my phone after setup. So I installed XP 32 then went through all the previous steps again, and now it says I need .NET 4. I install that, then try again, and SWM gives me an error that it cannot load one of the components. So I try my fallback plan of superboot. Except, my computer refuses to recognize the phone in fastboot mode.

So, no matter what, I cannot get the damn thing rooted. If anyone has ideas, please help.
__________________
Account no longer active. Contact info available in profile, if anyone cares to reach me.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:59 PM   #13215
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,127
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quick question that I feel doesn't warrant having its own thread, IS there any way to on a laptop have it switch to the basic theme from aero when running on the battery? I am in college now and I want to get the most out of the battery since it will have to last a few hours without a recharge.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:18 PM   #13216
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Ah shit. I get my AS Level results tomorrow.
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:22 PM   #13217
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by j03 View Post
Ah shit. I get my AS Level results tomorrow.
Good luck man.

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:30 PM   #13218
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remeniz View Post
Good luck man.

Thanks dude. I think I'll need it!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:47 PM   #13219
Daemon Poster
 
CrackerJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 986
Send a message via Skype™ to CrackerJacker
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

is it me or did they fuck youtube up with the video browsing
__________________
USAF KC-135R Crew Chief
i7 2770 @ 3.4ghz, Geforce GTX 560 ti, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD 120gb, cup holder
I would imagine if you could understand Morse Code, a tap dancer would drive you crazy
CrackerJacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:38 PM   #13220
..m.0,0.m..
Site Team
 
iPwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,673
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
Quick question that I feel doesn't warrant having its own thread, IS there any way to on a laptop have it switch to the basic theme from aero when running on the battery? I am in college now and I want to get the most out of the battery since it will have to last a few hours without a recharge.
Get TuneUp Utilities 2010, it has a turbo mode which you can one-click enable and it will disable the aero theme as well as a lot of the unwanted processes. It's for giving your computer more juice while gaming but it's good for battery life too.
__________________

__________________
Humans are the only creatures that won't live up to the their potential. Give everything your all. When you die, die on E.

So I ask you, what do you intend to do now?
iPwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Jokes N Stuff! | - »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0