Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2010, 03:02 PM   #11481
..m.0,0.m..
Site Team
 
iPwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,675
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

^ Personally looks good to me, but I'm not a Guru with audio so I'll just stfu
__________________

__________________
Humans are the only creatures that won't live up to the their potential. Give everything your all. When you die, die on E.

So I ask you, what do you intend to do now?
iPwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 03:09 PM   #11482
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Does everyone think this is a worthy upgrade?
Seriously, the Control 29AV-1's own!

They're slightly less efficient than the Control 28's but the higher power handling will cover that and the Fq response is much better. Better quality drivers too. Just use a nice, 200W RMS minimum, power amp with them.
__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 03:17 PM   #11483
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Does everyone think this is a worthy upgrade?
I'm no pro, but i'd say so!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 03:24 PM   #11484
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

I'm also not very savvy with audio, but by looks and specs, it seems worth it.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 02:21 AM   #11485
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Literally an hour before im ordering my Droid,motorola announce a Droid 2 in a month. What do :|.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:45 AM   #11486
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Literally an hour before im ordering my Droid,motorola announce a Droid 2 in a month. What do :|.
just deal with, because the Motorola Droid does everything you'd ever need a phone to do lol.


using 3G i get about 1.01Mb/s using speed test app, and on my home wifi i get about 4-6Mb/s using wirelless G from my Linksys.
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:51 AM   #11487
Fully Optimized
 
dude_56013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,262
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

@Remeniz (and anyone else who might know what's up)

Okay. So idk if I explained that I was going to take my PA system (This, 2 of these, and this) to my church to see how it sounded. Well, here's the low down.

Scenario 1
-Put amp/speakers up in the rear projector room (behind the screen seen in this picture; okay, I couldn't find the updated picture. This is before the screen was put in, but it's high on that wall where that other framed thing is). I figured, "hey, if we can hide the speakers up there and get sound thrown out the projector screen, that's awesome."

-I had to run a 60" cable (homemade, with about 5 spliced sections of wire, nonetheless!) with RCAs on the ends. I didn't have ANYTHING to do TRS with to output from the mixer. Here's how I had it: 2 RCA spliced down to a single wire run then spliced back up to two RCAs on the other end. (Keep this in mind as I talk about quality later on.)

-In order to get the microphones to the mixer, I had to use a jumble of XLR cables. Both microphones are connected by various strands of XLR cabling. It's all pre-bought, but only one cable was super high quality (from monoprice). The others were ones that came with my Alesis Mixer (not alesis cords, though) when I got that with a podcast package. Again, this might have something to do with the quality that I'll discuss.

-Put the mixer down stairs (where I'll need to be to control the projector with the laptop).

Conclusion 1: sounded not great. Granted, anything is better than what we have now, but... Okay. Here's what it sounded like. Music was pretty decent (played a variety), but the microphones were not (in fact, the old system sounded fine for the mics...kinda). What was happening was that I could not get the microphones to go loud enough without ringing. Also, when someone would talk during mic checks, right at the end of the phrase you were saying it would "ring" for just a split second after the person finished speaking. You had to get really close to the microphone for it to pick up your voice (this leads me to believe that the microphones may need replacing). Okay. Backup here for a second. One microphone was terrible. The other one seemed to be decent. The decent one was an AudioTechnica. The other one had no brand on it--that one was the junker. You had to get sooooo close for it to pick up your voice. HOWEVER it wasn't mounted correctly. Instead of being directly in front of your mouth, it was mounted at a 90* angle (and most condenser microphones don't like to work at a 90* angle...which is why I think I had to get so close to it) The AudioTechnica was straight on with the vocal projection line.

The other issue was echoing. I think it was because it was placed in a small room, with no sound insulation, trying to escape it through a 10' projector screen. Dumb idea...sooooo

Scenario 2
-Lugged the speakers and stands down stairs and put them in front of each podium. Was still using all the same cabling (including the unfortunately crappy RCA line out from the mixer).

Conclusion 2:
-Microphones were the same result. I mean, they were loud enough for me, but for an older person or a person hard of hearing, I don't think they'll cut it (well, the one crappy non-branded one). I wasn't pleased at all.

-Ringing was reduced, but still not a great improvement. (It seemed to only have problems with speaking tones and speaking volume. I sang an array of a cappella stuff which all sounded fine, surprisingly)

-Music sounded fine.

-Echoing was greatly reduced.

So what now? Any ideas for solutions to these issues before I go and buy $1,000 worth of stuff? I mean, it is all better than what we have (we can't play ANY music now without distortion). Do you think the crap-ass cabling I did has a lot to do with it? I have a feeling that it does. We could also due with replacing that crappy microphone.

If someone really thinks that wall mounting these up higher would help things, let me know and I guess I can look into it. But a church with 45 people on a Sunday doesn't have much money.
dude_56013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:03 AM   #11488
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperviper21 View Post
just deal with, because the Motorola Droid does everything you'd ever need a phone to do lol.


using 3G i get about 1.01Mb/s using speed test app, and on my home wifi i get about 4-6Mb/s using wirelless G from my Linksys.
Im just worried about apps and games. If i buy a droid,i want it still be able to use new games and apps in say,2 years time?
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:15 AM   #11489
Golden Master
 
sniperviper21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,438
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Im just worried about apps and games. If i buy a droid,i want it still be able to use new games and apps in say,2 years time?
i dont see why it wouldnt.

iv NEVER slowed mine down an i multitask like you wouldn't believe.
__________________
You got to have a Fiddle in the band!
sniperviper21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 10:53 AM   #11490
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Random Chit Chat

Yeah you make a valid point. I'm either going to buy a Droid (I can put up with my 6280 for another week or 2) or an Ipad. Still unsure...
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0