Random Chit Chat

I'm already lost with all those States' differences :p

I failed smog test at first try and had to take another. Had to adjust the fuel distributor (old injection system but at least not carburetor) to pass. First try costs ~$20 USD and all other next tries if that fails cost ~$6.5 USD. Registration renewal is $40 USD sharp for a three years validity.

That fuel distro adjustment actually fixed a problem I've been facing for a couple of years; intermittent shaking engine. The center that did it (was next to the inspection facility) had a smog tester, something the industrial area thinks not needed. Inspection turned out to be a good thing, see?

Here in the uk...
Cars are registered for life.
New cars do not require inspection for three years,
After that cars are required to have a minimum safety test and smog test every year.
The test is referred to as an MOT, even though that achronym actually means ministry of transport. Old people may refere to it as a ticket.
You can sell a car with an MOT, so the date that the inspection is fine does not change.
It is illegal to drive a car without a valid MOT unless you are driving it to get inspected. (The test included, brakes, effectiveness and balance, lights, function colour and aim, horn working, seats in place, and secure, seat belts location anchors etc, tacho/speedo function and accuracy, checks for chassis condition (I.e rust or holes within a certain distance, and of course the smog test, or hydrocarbon test if it is petrol driven.

We have to pay a road tax to drive or keep a car on the road, as that tax is based on how much that car polluted when first made, though older cars are taxed based on engine size.