Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 11:10 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default RAM With Heatspreaders

ok a while ago i did a new build for my friend thing it was some cheap C2D like an e4400 with 2Gb RAM and a pretty cheap Asus motherboard

now this was the RAM i bought
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/116755

the thing is when i put it in the motherboard the heaspreaderes were right up against each other there was no airflor at all between them

i though it may be ok as it would just be a larger area for the 2 RAM sticks to spread heat............ it wasnt after a few hours the RAM fried.

my worry is that this has put me off RAM with heatspreaders now im always scared there gonna be too close together and generate too much heat

how will you know before ordering a motherboard if it will comfortably take RAM with heatspreaders with enought space between ?
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 11:17 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

you dont have to worry, every motherboard will accept ram with heatspreaders. the sinks themselves usually dont add too much width to the overall ram.

the closest they can get the ram DIMMs isnt close enough to make heatspreaders touch
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 11:36 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

Instead of putting them right next to each other, put them in opposite slots, unless your using four dimms or your motherboards dual channel slots or next to each other.
__________________
www.crazycomputers.org
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 05:37 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

ok bullzi you say every mothervboard will except ram with heatspreaders. yes they will but will they leave enough space for them to cool.

and hascet on this particular board there was only 2 slots
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:40 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

i have the same OCZ's but 4 gigs, and they are pretty close together...but i don't have any problem with them, computer is running smooth...and ram is running with no problems.

Do you think it could have been faulty equipment?
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:04 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukaszr View Post
i have the same OCZ's but 4 gigs, and they are pretty close together...but i don't have any problem with them, computer is running smooth...and ram is running with no problems.

Do you think it could have been faulty equipment?
I too have OCZ memory with the same heatspreader style. They are not too close together. I think lukaszr may be onto something. I also think you may have some faulty hardware, rather it was the RAM or your mobo I don't know, but I would recommend testing your motherboard to make sure it is all happy. I assume you are going to RMA your RAM that was fried?
__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:07 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

oh yeah this happened a while ago. like 3 months back, but my mate is doind a new build and im cautious about buying RAM with heatspreaders.

it could have been fault RAM but i can honestly say the 2 heatspreaders were actually touching each other.

it porbably didnt help that it was a mATX board and the new build is going to b ATX which should help.

yh i sent them back and got some kingston without heat spreaders.

it is possible they were faulty i guess.




there were pretty much the same as them, they do seem awfully close together with no air flow ??
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:26 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssc456 View Post
oh yeah this happened a while ago. like 3 months back, but my mate is doind a new build and im cautious about buying RAM with heatspreaders.

it could have been fault RAM but i can honestly say the 2 heatspreaders were actually touching each other.

it porbably didnt help that it was a mATX board and the new build is going to b ATX which should help.

yh i sent them back and got some kingston without heat spreaders.

it is possible they were faulty i guess.

*removed picture for quote purposes*

there were pretty much the same as them, they do seem awfully close together with no air flow ??
Well if they are actually touching each other that does sound bad, but if they are very close, then that should be fine. If they are touching each other I could foresee issues, but otherwise i really doubt the heat would kill em, as long as there is good airflow in the case.

Either way, I don't think you should be discouraged from heatspreaders. You could probably just eye the distance between the DIMM slots on the mobo to figure how it would do. Most mobos have two sets, which are slightly seperated from eachother, while the DIMM slots in each set are against each other. When i get home, I can post a picture of how mine look if that helps
__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 09:40 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

Get a RAM cooler or put a fan over them.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:27 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: RAM With Heatspreaders

dude, you should have put them in properly for dual channel- one in blue and one in orange. each one of those is almost always a seperate channel.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0