Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2009, 11:28 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default questions

if u have 2 gpus running 3 monitors
are both of them used by games to get better frames per second?
for example
will 2 280gtxs beat a 280gtx and a 9400gtx if there NOT in sli
just running a 3 monitor set up
__________________

__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:32 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: questions

Well from what I've heard esa193, you cannot run more than 1 monitor when you're on an SLI setup.
__________________

__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:33 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
rohan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: questions

No, only the main card is used for gaming. In this case your GTX 280 would only be used to render the graphics. The second card is strictly for visual purposes on your secondary monitor.
__________________
Macook 13.3

2.13Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-2GB DDR2 800 Mhz-500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue- Nvidia 9400M
rohan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:36 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default Re: questions

so they would both be the same meaning that
buying 2 280 gpus would be stupid if im NOT running them in sli....
__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:38 PM   #5
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by esa193 View Post
if u have 2 gpus running 3 monitors
are both of them used by games to get better frames per second?
for example
will 2 280gtxs beat a 280gtx and a 9400gtx if there NOT in sli
just running a 3 monitor set up
Nope. The video cards are operating separately and your games will run the same in either setup.

Yes, buying two GTX 280's would be a waste if not running in SLI.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:40 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: questions

Yeah, you can run 2 monitors but one will have stuff for like email and the other would be fore games. You could run dual monitors if you went with just one GTX 280 though.

EDIT: But it's pointless to go with dual 280's if only one card is going to be used for basic desktop stuff. You could buy a simple 9400GT for another monitor if you wanted to save the power of GTX 280 strictly for gaming though.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:41 PM   #7
Beta Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: questions

Ok, so, say I'm trying to run 6 monitors, i have a geforce 9400 gt already (doesn't support SLI) and i was looking at dual GTX 260's to support my other 4 monitors, it would be useless?
Icarus_001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:44 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icarus_001 View Post
Ok, so, say I'm trying to run 6 monitors, i have a geforce 9400 gt already (doesn't support SLI) and i was looking at dual GTX 260's to support my other 4 monitors, it would be useless?
Yeah, it would be totally useless.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:44 PM   #9
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: questions

It wouldn't be useless, just not cost effective.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:47 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: questions

It would be useless if he was SLIing them. but separately, it would be just be way overkill. 2 9500GT's or 2 4670's would be good for 4 monitors.
__________________

__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0