Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2008, 10:43 PM   #1
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default question about installing a os

I bought a computer a few months ago that came with vista pre-installed, I have a second hd that I wiped out clean but when i put that hd in this computer, after disconecting the other one it gives me a bootmgr missing error when i boot up. I want to install xp on that second hd, I still want to keep the hd that came with the comp with vista on it, but i want a backup hd with xp on it. How do i install xp on my spare hd if it keeps giving me that error message on boot up? thanks for the help...
__________________

dionysus198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:38 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: question about installing a os

set the bios to boot from CD, pop in the xp disc and install it
you could also pop both hdds in and set the spare as a slave, then boot into vista and install from there.
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:01 PM   #3
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: question about installing a os

sorry bout that man, i relized after that i put it in the wrong section oh well.
I tryed that man it tells me i have a BOOTmgr file missing and it doesnt load the cd with xp on it.. I read somewhere that you can't "downgrade" to xp from vista? wtf is up with that.. I have a spare hd all i want to do is put xp on it, and have 1 hd with vista, and one with xp.. on the same comp. Do I not know what im doing or somthing? haha
dionysus198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:52 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: question about installing a os

you can downgrade, but only on a new partition/format.
your using a different hdd anyway. there shouldnt be any traces of vista. this is wierd. cant you boot into vista (with both hdd's plugged in), then choose to install xp on hdd #2?
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:57 PM   #5
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: question about installing a os

yes i can boot both hds, i boot my vista one up with the erased one plugged in aswell go into it from the vista hd put inthe xp disc and it says like windows cant install this copy of xp because it is older than the one thats already on there etc.. mabye i have a bad disc? i dont know i dont know whats up.. its like a simple task why cant shit just work :-\
dionysus198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 03:08 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: question about installing a os

i think the disc is ok, it just wont let you install it which is stupid. is it a legal disc? sometimes illegally burnt ones arnt bootable.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 03:11 PM   #7
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: question about installing a os

k new problem guess it was the disc. I downloaded a fresh copy of XP from my college MSDN website, burned it to a dvd and i got it to work.. i got the the partitioning part and i go to hit enter to partition it and it just blue screens now.. wtf.. this is like more trouble then its worth, ha any idea why this is happening man?

I googled and found this qoute, this is exactly what mine is doing..
I get to the part of the installation process where it asks about partitioning the drive. It gives me the option to delete all the data, create a partition, or continue installation. No matter which one I choose, a blue screen comes up saying that the computer had to restart to prevent any damage from happening and there is a bunch of other stuff that I didn't write down. Does anyone know what this is all about or any other way I can get around this? Has the hard drive just gone bad? I've tried over and over again to go through the installation, but this happens every time.
__________________

dionysus198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0