Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2009, 07:11 PM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

My dad had a slvr. I hated the thing, But that may just be me
__________________

tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:17 PM   #12
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

What I liked about the SLVR was the ability to customize the ringtone and alarm pretty easily when I had my first experience with it, I dont know much about the CU500 as I never seen or touched it. But I know the ringtone is customizable (not a fan of the ascending ringtone though), not sure about the alarm.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:23 PM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
rohan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,087
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

Make sure it will actually work. The older phones used a 32K sim card and the newer ones use a 64K.
__________________
Macook 13.3

2.13Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-2GB DDR2 800 Mhz-500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue- Nvidia 9400M
rohan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:27 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

Yea but for the most part, phones from the last few years will be fine
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 07:27 PM   #15
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

Im pretty sure its going to work, I got my sim card about a little over 2 years ago, and the phones Im looking at now are only about 1 or 2 years in difference opposed to when I got my sim card.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:49 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

if you go to the store they will trade sim info from a 64 to a 32, when i went from my slvr to iphone they copied all my info to the better sim and then used that one and kept the old one. But if your just buying online then use the newer phone so your sim is compaitable
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:24 AM   #17
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

I have a question about the 32 and 64 thing.
How do I know what I have? and how do I find out what the phone supports?

EDIT - Just looked at my Cingular sim card, and it has an 3G symbol in a little fireball looking thing. It doesnt tell me if its an 32K or an 64K.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:26 AM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

Check the contact side of the card, it may or may not have it there, at least that's what every Google search I've done has come up with.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 09:40 AM   #19
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Question about Cell Phones

i may be wrong here but if you have 3g with your sim card then you most likely have the 64 one because 3g is a newer network, although sprint just came out with the 4g network =/
__________________

hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0