Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 12:14 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: PSX on PC

I tried that Java emulator deal. It didn't work for me. I'll have to see if I have an update for Java before trying again.....
__________________

__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 02:07 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: PSX on PC

Heh, I just use emulators on my xbox. Nes, Snes, genesis, 64, and even psx
__________________

MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 04:24 PM   #23
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: PSX on PC

me still gots an origonal psx somwhere its chipped as well , i wonder if there is a emulator for psp cos i realy wanna play vice city stories but i cannot afford a psp
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 12:02 AM   #24
Daemon Poster
 
Steemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Steemax Send a message via MSN to Steemax Send a message via Yahoo to Steemax
Default Re: PSX on PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner
hah! ps3 emulators.. don't make me laugh.. generally you need a computer much stronger than the console your trying to emulate.. we didn't have problems with that since just about everyone has a computer stronger than a nes, snes, genesis, etc..

Most people have computers stronger than the PS2.. but emulating it is a bitch.
Did you know that just about any computer's stats are probably better then the PS3's.. if im not mistaken it only has a graphics card that compares with a FX5700 ...
__________________
| Intel Core i7 4770K | Nvidia GTX 770OC | Samsung EVO 500GB SSD | Carbide 400R | Corsair Vengeance 16gb DDR3 | Corsair 750TXV2 PSU | Corsair Hydro 100i | Gigabyte Z87 Mobo |
Steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 02:53 PM   #25
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: PSX on PC

really????
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 03:10 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: PSX on PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz379
me still gots an origonal psx somwhere its chipped as well , i wonder if there is a emulator for psp cos i realy wanna play vice city stories but i cannot afford a psp
there is, but it doesnt play commercial games
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 03:18 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: PSX on PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steemax
Did you know that just about any computer's stats are probably better then the PS3's.. if im not mistaken it only has a graphics card that compares with a FX5700 ...
The PS3 has a video card based on the g70. (GeForce 7 series)
As an owner of such a video card, I can tell you right now, the FX5700 is a weak POS. It could never pull out what we see on the PS3 right now. And even then, my video card (7600GT) isn't as strong as a PS3's GPU.

As it stands, my PC, which sports an AMD64 3200+ and a GeForce 7600GT can't even manage better than 10 FPS is freakin' Final Fantasy 10. on a PS2 emulator...
In their demonstration video, the had to use a system with an AMD 4400+ X2.
to get 40fps in sonic riders...

I don't think you realize, that in terms of emulation, the processor has to fool the game data into seeing hardware that doesn't exist, and then it has to actually try to run all that crap at a decent framerate.. this is very hard and taxing. As game consoles get more advanced, this gets more and more difficult, and the gap of power between the original console and the PC they try to use gets bigger and bigger.

You can't just expect a computer which happens to be stronger than the console to run the console games perfectly in emulation.. a lot of optimization is required, on top of having vastly superior hardware..
The XBox1 sports a geforce3 mx, a 766 mhz CPU, and 64 megs of ram.. sometimes, it has problems playing some games on an n64 emulator.. framerates can get pretty bad.

The super nintendo has something like an 3.5mhz CPU, yet my old computer, with a 300mhz CPU, could barely emulate that thing at 20-40 fps depending on the game.

PCSX2 is the only ps2 emulator to get even close to running commercial games fluidly (in fact it's the only one to run commercial games..)

So until some magic happens, don't even think that we have a shot at a PS3 emulator for years.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 03:22 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: PSX on PC

well mike reiner is right, but the ps3 has like 256mb of xdr ram, which is clocked to uber fast speeds so it processes stuff really fast even though it has so little of it.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0