Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default PSU for Server

How much power would I need for a basic server? It wont be a beast. Just a dual core with couple gigs of ram and a HDD.
__________________

__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:25 PM   #2
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: PSU for Server

You know this doesn't go here. But to give you an answer, 500watts would give you room to add goodies later.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:26 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: PSU for Server

Yes, I know. i realized I posted in wrong spot after i clicked ok.
But thanks!
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: PSU for Server

Really, you shouldn't need much more than 400 watts for a basic server. You could porbably even get by with a 350W unit. The main thing is you need a good quality PSU that will last in the long run.

I would suggest either of these:

Antec Basiq BP-350B 350W - $19.99

Antec Basiq BP500UB 500W - $39.99

I suggested the Antec 500W unit because you can't find a comparable power supply of 400W and up at that price and quality.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:01 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: PSU for Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
Really, you shouldn't need much more than 400 watts for a basic server. You could porbably even get by with a 350W unit. The main thing is you need a good quality PSU that will last in the long run.
That's what i was thinking. But wasn't sure.
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:16 AM   #6
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: PSU for Server

It depend's what it's doing. Some servers will use much more than a normal desktop PC, some will use much less. Although I'd imagine a home server (file storage?) would use around 250-350W of power.
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:20 PM   #7
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: PSU for Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by J03 View Post
It depend's what it's doing. Some servers will use much more than a normal desktop PC, some will use much less. Although I'd imagine a home server (file storage?) would use around 250-350W of power.
Yeah if you haven't got an insame graphics card in it then it won't need much
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:26 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: PSU for Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
x2. great PSU
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 03:50 PM   #9
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: PSU for Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon View Post
Yeah if you haven't got an insame graphics card in it then it won't need much
I'd imagine an Array of SCSI drives could eat up a load of power!
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0