Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2008, 04:34 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
kostonbleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 391
Default ps3 to tv, what cable?

my roommate got a ps3 and a 32' sharp hdtv. the only problem is is that the picture looks like ass. he got a cheap 20 dollar hdmi cable at wally world and i was wondering if that was it? what do you guys use for the ps3 cable?
__________________

__________________
My setup: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+, 2Gb A-data ddr800, MSI K9A2 CF 790X, MSI 2600XT T2D512EZ, Samsung DVD-RW, Ultra 500W PS Vseries, Maxtor 80Gb, Aspire Mid-tower case, Windows xp Home, Westinghouse 19" LCD
kostonbleeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 04:45 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

HDMI either transmits or it doesn't. That means a $12 cable is just as good as a $100 cable. Its most likely in the PS3 or TV settings making it look bad.

Try getting a calibration disc and tune the settings. If it doesn't help you could try component inputs they also except 1080P signals the only difference HDMI is one cable instead of 3 cables carrying the sound/audio.

I think your TV just needs calibrated for optimum picture to be honest.
__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 04:50 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
kostonbleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 391
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

where would he be able to get one of those?
__________________
My setup: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+, 2Gb A-data ddr800, MSI K9A2 CF 790X, MSI 2600XT T2D512EZ, Samsung DVD-RW, Ultra 500W PS Vseries, Maxtor 80Gb, Aspire Mid-tower case, Windows xp Home, Westinghouse 19" LCD
kostonbleeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:02 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

I downloaded this free set online and burnt to a cd. You could just save them on a flash drive and use the ps3 to view them.

http://www.xyhd.tv/2007/10/how-to/ca...th-sexy-girls/
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:07 PM   #5
In Runtime
 
kostonbleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 391
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

also he didnt get a remote with it, can anyone suggest a good remote for it. the oversized remote he got wont let him change any settings
__________________
My setup: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+, 2Gb A-data ddr800, MSI K9A2 CF 790X, MSI 2600XT T2D512EZ, Samsung DVD-RW, Ultra 500W PS Vseries, Maxtor 80Gb, Aspire Mid-tower case, Windows xp Home, Westinghouse 19" LCD
kostonbleeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:24 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kostonbleeds View Post
also he didnt get a remote with it, can anyone suggest a good remote for it. the oversized remote he got wont let him change any settings
Depends how much you want to spend. This is the remote i'm buying for my setup. I've searched around and its rated pretty good and its not priced to high.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16880100771
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:35 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

Did you try using the component cable that came with the ps3 to see what the picture looks like?
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:38 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

It's most likely the PS3's settings. Most HDMI cables are all the same regardless of the price. They just try to win you over with all that marketing stuff like "shielding" and whatnot.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:38 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Boy View Post
Did you try using the component cable that came with the ps3 to see what the picture looks like?
PS3's don't come with component there sold separately.

I think your referring to composites ins and he does not want to use those. Composite are only capable of 480I signals.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 05:39 PM   #10
In Runtime
 
kostonbleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 391
Default Re: ps3 to tv, what cable?

well 90 is more than sharp wants for the remote specifically for the tv so he'll prolly just go with that
__________________

__________________
My setup: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+, 2Gb A-data ddr800, MSI K9A2 CF 790X, MSI 2600XT T2D512EZ, Samsung DVD-RW, Ultra 500W PS Vseries, Maxtor 80Gb, Aspire Mid-tower case, Windows xp Home, Westinghouse 19" LCD
kostonbleeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0