Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2007, 05:26 PM   #21
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

We have ours set to a small number for the members and a lot for the mods and admins. The more you have the more server space you burn up.
But to the time limit. I side with David on this. The bots can be a real pain sometimes and you have to trade off bells and whistles to keep them out or under control. If you guys need to have a real time chat with some one get them on msn or yahoo. Heck even gmail has gchat.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 05:44 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

its just a pian when i was pm'ing ace yesterday as he only has yahoo and i only have msn and i couldnt be arsed with emails. i see the point about the bot though. it would be cool to have a shorter limit but i dont see it as a big problem
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 06:02 PM   #23
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

Quote:
its just a pian when i was pm'ing ace yesterday as he only has yahoo and i only have msn and i couldnt be arsed with emails. i see the point about the bot though. it would be cool to have a shorter limit but i dont see it as a big problem
Yahoo and MSN are cross compatible these days......

**And on a side note, why when I tried to quote the message did it keep coming up the message is too short, please use more then 1 character??
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 03:14 AM   #24
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK View Post
Why when I tried to quote the message did it keep coming up the message is too short, please use more then 1 character??
I get that sometimes, it's puzzling, oh, by the way, I got a white screen yet again, when tried to reply to this post [David please note!]
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 08:21 AM   #25
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK View Post
Yahoo and MSN are cross compatible these days......

**And on a side note, why when I tried to quote the message did it keep coming up the message is too short, please use more then 1 character??
true, but i tried that once and it just didnt work. its just nice to talk through pm. oh a side note, the forums are loading up damn slow today
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 03:15 PM   #26
BSOD
 
Furby123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 491
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

I've not had any problems.
Furby123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 03:37 PM   #27
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
true, but i tried that once and it just didnt work. its just nice to talk through pm. oh a side note, the forums are loading up damn slow today
Yeah it can be a bit tempermental, you have to make sure that both people have the most up to date versions of each messenger, but I know that some of the people that I talk to have also not got my messages.....
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 03:46 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: PM mailbox limit

Well, if the user could have a report button, tracking those bots would be easier. At least 2 mins could be great. Also, if you want bots out of the forum, then I'd consider registration that requires a randomly generated code to be placed in. Especially for RGF and ServerTalk.
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0