Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2009, 03:26 PM   #21
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanatic4Christ View Post
lol i have about 4 speakers hooked up to one of my channels on my surround sound and it never gets got.. i also have 4 subwoofers hooked up to the subwoofer (cut the wire ect ect)
Didn't you say you had a 2000 watt amplifier? LOL.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 03:52 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanatic4Christ View Post
lol i have about 4 speakers hooked up to one of my channels on my surround sound and it never gets got.. i also have 4 subwoofers hooked up to the subwoofer (cut the wire ect ect) but i got lucky so how that it doesnt get hot... if yours doesnt overheat, then good, go for it! but know that if you lower the ohm load its more likely that your going to fry your stuff... but i dont think 4 ohms will be bad for it
I love your posts. They're so entertaining.
__________________

__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 05:48 PM   #23
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

White van speakers?


And DJ speakers are not necessarily bassy. If you mean DJ speakers by mobile stuff, it's real common to use some bass bins with the mains. If you mean DJ speakers by what's in clubs, they will all have bass bins.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 05:55 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
White van speakers?
LOL. I was thinking the exact same thing.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:03 PM   #25
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

rofl got you some Kirsch or MTS speakers there then dude
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:21 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

question: his amp is for 16 oms, so why not wire them in series?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:37 PM   #27
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Yes that would be the common sense approach to this
However that would lead to lower volume output
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:41 PM   #28
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
question: his amp is for 16 oms, so why not wire them in series?
He'll loose a lot of sound output wiring the speakers in series.

Keep them in parallel. Your system will shut down to protect the output stages if the amp should it not agree with a particular load. If this happens - usually at high volumes - then you know your amp isn't liking the load.
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:43 PM   #29
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Can i just get some proper info here
what Impedance are the speakers all of them
whats your amps power rating
whats the amps minimum impedance rating
what is the max power for the speakers
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:49 PM   #30
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Plug two speakers into one socket on amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz View Post
Can i just get some proper info here
what Impedance are the speakers all of them
whats your amps power rating
whats the amps minimum impedance rating
what is the max power for the speakers
Some info here.
__________________

__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0